April 13

Deuteronomy 19

1When the nations, whose land the Lord your God is giving you, have been cut off by him, and you have taken their place and are living in their towns and in their houses;

2You are to have three towns marked out in the land which the Lord your God is giving you for your heritage.

3You are to make ready a way, and see that the land which the Lord your God is giving you for your heritage, is marked out into three parts, to which any taker of life may go in flight.

4This is to be the rule for anyone who goes in flight there, after causing the death of his neighbour in error and not through hate;

5For example, if a man goes into the woods with his neighbour for the purpose of cutting down trees, and when he takes his axe to give a blow to the tree, the head of the axe comes off, and falling on to his neighbour gives him a wound causing his death; then the man may go in flight to one of these towns and be safe:

6For if not, he who has the right of punishment may go running after the taker of life in the heat of his wrath, and overtake him because the way is long, and give him a death-blow; though it is not right for him to be put to death because he was not moved by hate.

7And so I am ordering you to see that three towns are marked out for this purpose.

8And if the Lord your God makes wide the limits of your land, as he said in his oath to your fathers, and gives you all the land which he undertook to give to your fathers;

9If you keep and do all these orders which I give you today, loving the Lord your God and walking ever in his ways; then let three more towns, in addition to these three, be marked out for you:

10So that in all your land, which the Lord your God is giving you for your heritage, no man may be wrongly put to death, for which you will be responsible.

11But if any man has hate for his neighbour, and waiting for him secretly makes an attack on him and gives him a blow causing his death, and then goes in flight to one of these towns;

12The responsible men of his town are to send and take him, and give him up to the one who has the right of punishment to be put to death.

13Have no pity on him, so that Israel may be clear from the crime of putting a man to death without cause, and it will be well for you.

14Your neighbour’s landmark, which was put in its place by the men of old times, is not to be moved or taken away in the land of your heritage which the Lord your God is giving you.

15One witness may not make a statement against a man in relation to any sin or wrongdoing which he has done: on the word of two or three witnesses a question is to be judged.

16If a false witness makes a statement against a man, saying that he has done wrong,

17Then the two men, between whom the argument has taken place, are to come before the Lord, before the priests and judges who are then in power;

18And the judges will have the question looked into with care: and if the witness is seen to be false and to have made a false statement against his brother,

19Then do to him what it was his purpose to do to his brother: and so put away the evil from among you.

20And the rest of the people, hearing of it, will be full of fear, and never again do such evil among you.

21Have no pity; let life be given for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot.

Job 13

1Truly, my eye has seen all this, word of it has come to my ear, and I have knowledge of it.

2The same things are in my mind as in yours; I am equal to you.

3But I would have talk with the Ruler of all, and my desire is to have an argument with God.

4But you put a false face on things; all your attempts to put things right are of no value.

5If only you would keep quiet, it would be a sign of wisdom!

6Give ear to the argument of my mouth, and take note of the words of my lips.

7Will you say in God’s name what is not right, and put false words into his mouth?

8Will you have respect for God’s person in this cause, and put yourselves forward as his supporters?

9Will it be good for you to be searched out by him, or have you the thought that he may be guided into error like a man?

10He will certainly put you right, if you have respect for persons in secret.

11Will not his glory put you in fear, so that your hearts will be overcome before him?

12Your wise sayings are only dust, and your strong places are only earth.

13Keep quiet, and let me say what is in my mind, whatever may come to me.

14I will take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in my hand.

15Truly, he will put an end to me; I have no hope; but I will not give way in argument before him;

16And that will be my salvation, for an evil-doer would not come before him,

17Give ear with care to my words, and keep what I say in your minds.

18See now, I have put my cause in order, and I am certain that I will be seen to be right.

19Is any one able to take up the argument against me? If so, I would keep quiet and give up my breath.

20Only two things do not do to me, then I will come before your face:

21Take your hand far away from me; and let me not be overcome by fear of you.

22Then at the sound of your voice I will give answer; or let me put forward my cause for you to give me an answer.

23What is the number of my evil-doings and my sins? give me knowledge of them.

24Why is your face veiled from me, as if I was numbered among your haters?

25Will you be hard on a leaf in flight before the wind? will you make a dry stem go more quickly on its way?

26For you put bitter things on record against me, and send punishment on me for the sins of my early years;

27And you put chains on my feet, watching all my ways, and making a limit for my steps;

28Though a man comes to nothing like a bit of dead wood, or like a robe which has become food for the worm.

Acts 4:1-22

1And while they were talking to the people, the priests and the captain of the Temple and the Sadducees came up to them,

2Being greatly troubled because they were teaching the people and preaching Jesus as an example of the coming back from the dead.

3And they took them and put them in prison till the morning, for it was now evening.

4But a number of those who gave hearing to the word had faith; and they were now about five thousand.

5And on the day after, the rulers and those in authority and the scribes came together in Jerusalem;

6And Annas, the high priest, was there, and Caiaphas and John and Alexander, and all the relations of the high priest.

7Then sending for Peter and John, they said, By what power and in whose name have you done this?

8Then Peter, being full of the Holy Spirit, said to them, O you rulers of the people and men of authority,

9If we are questioned today about a good work done to a man who was ill, as to how he has been made well,

10Take note, all of you, and all the people of Israel, that in the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you put to death on the cross, whom God gave back from the dead, even through him is this man now before you completely well.

11He is the stone which you builders had no use for, but which has been made the chief stone of the building.

12And in no other is there salvation: for there is no other name under heaven, given among men, through which we may have salvation.

13Now when they saw that Peter and John were without fear, though they were men of no education or learning, they were greatly surprised; and they took note of them that they had been with Jesus.

14And, seeing that the man who had been made well was there with them, they were not able to say anything against it.

15But when they had given them orders to go out of the Sanhedrin, they had a discussion among themselves,

16Saying, What are we to do with these men? for certainly it is clear to all who are living in Jerusalem that a most important sign has been done by them, and it is not possible to say that it is not so.

17But so that it may not go farther among the people, let us put them in fear of punishment if they say anything in future in this name.

18And they sent for them, and gave them orders not to make statements or give teaching in the name of Jesus.

19But Peter and John in answer said to them, It is for you to say if it is right in the eyes of God to give attention to you more than to God:

20For it is not possible for us to keep from saying what we have seen and have knowledge of.

21And when they had said more sharp words to them, they let them go, not seeing what punishment they might give them, because of the people; for all men were giving praise to God for what had taken place.

22For the man on whom this act of power was done was more than forty years old.

Leave a Reply

