May 1

Joshua 22

1Then Joshua sent for the Reubenites and the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manasseh,

2And said to them, You have kept all the orders of Moses, the Lord’s servant, and have done everything I gave you orders to do:

3You have now been with your brothers for a long time; till this day you have been doing the orders of the Lord your God.

4And now the Lord your God has given your brothers rest, as he said: so now you may go back to your tents, to the land of your heritage, which Moses, the Lord’s servant, gave to you on the other side of Jordan.

5Only take great care to do the orders and the law which Moses, the Lord’s servant, gave you; to have love for the Lord your God and to go in all his ways; and to keep his laws and to be true to him and to be his servants with all your heart and with all your soul.

6Then Joshua gave them his blessing and sent them away: and they went back to their tents.

7Now to the one half of the tribe of Manasseh, Moses had given a heritage in Bashan; but to the other half, Joshua gave a heritage among their brothers on the west side of Jordan. Now when Joshua sent them away to their tents, he gave them his blessing,

8And said to them, Go back with much wealth to your tents, and with very much cattle, with silver and gold and brass and iron, and with a very great store of clothing; give your brothers a part of the goods taken in the war.

9So Reuben and Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh went back, parting from the children of Israel at Shiloh in the land of Canaan, to go to the land of Gilead, to the land of their heritage which had been given to them by the Lord’s order to Moses.

10Now when they came to the country by Jordan in the land of Canaan, the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh put up there, by Jordan, a great altar, seen from far.

11And news came to the children of Israel, See, the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh have put up an altar opposite the land of Canaan, in the country by Jordan on the side which is Israel’s.

12Then all the meeting of the children of Israel, hearing this, came together at Shiloh to go up against them to war.

13And the children of Israel sent Phinehas, the son of Eleazar the priest, to the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh, to the land of Gilead,

14And with him they sent ten chiefs, one for every tribe of the children of Israel, every one of them the head of his house among the families of Israel.

15And they came to the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh, to the land of Gilead, and said to them,

16This is what all the meeting of the people of the Lord has said, What is this wrong which you have done against the God of Israel, turning back this day from the Lord and building an altar for yourselves, and being false to the Lord?

17Was not the sin of Baal-peor great enough, from which we are not clear even to this day, though punishment came on the people of the Lord,

18That now you are turned back from the Lord? and, because you are false to him today, tomorrow his wrath will be let loose on all the people of Israel.

19But if the land you now have is unclean, come over into the Lord’s land where his House is, and take up your heritage among us: but do not be false to the Lord and to us by building yourselves an altar in addition to the altar of the Lord our God.

20Did not Achan, the son of Zerah, do wrong about the cursed thing, causing wrath to come on all the people of Israel? And not on him only came the punishment of death.

21Then the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the half-tribe of Manasseh said in answer to the heads of the families of Israel,

22God, even God the Lord, God, even God the Lord, he sees, and Israel will see–if it is in pride or in sin against the Lord,

23That we have made ourselves an altar, being false to the Lord, keep us not safe from death this day; and if for the purpose of offering burned offerings on it and meal offerings, or peace-offerings, let the Lord himself send punishment for it;

24And if we have not, in fact, done this designedly and with purpose, having in our minds the fear that in time to come your children might say to our children, What have you to do with the Lord, the God of Israel?

25For the Lord has made Jordan a line of division between us and you, the children of Reuben and the children of Gad; you have no part in the Lord: so your children will make our children give up fearing the Lord.

26So we said, Let us now make an altar for ourselves, not for burned offerings or for the offerings of beasts:

27But to be a witness between us and you, and between the future generations, that we have the right of worshipping the Lord with our burned offerings and our offerings of beasts and our peace-offerings; so that your children will not be able to say to our children in time to come, You have no part in the Lord.

28For we said to ourselves, If they say this to us or to future generations, then we will say, See this copy of the Lord’s altar which our fathers made, not for burned offerings or offerings of beasts, but for a witness between us and you.

29Never let it be said that we were false to the Lord, turning back this day from him and building an altar for burned offerings and meal offerings and offerings of beasts, in addition to the altar of the Lord our God which is before his House.

30Then Phinehas the priest and the chiefs of the meeting and the heads of the families of Israel who were with him, hearing what the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the children of Manasseh said, were pleased.

31And Phinehas, the son of Eleazar the priest, said to the children of Reuben and the children of Gad and the children of Manasseh, Now we are certain that the Lord is among us, because you have not done this wrong against the Lord: and you have kept us from falling into the hands of the Lord.

32Then Phinehas, the son of Eleazar the priest, and the chiefs went back from the land of Gilead, from the children of Reuben and the children of Gad, and came to the children of Israel in Canaan and gave them the news.

33And the children of Israel were pleased about this; and they gave praise to God, and had no more thought of going to war against the children of Reuben and the children of Gad for the destruction of their land.

34And the children of Reuben and the children of Gad gave to that altar the name of Ed. For, they said, It is a witness between us that the Lord is God.

Job 31

1I made an agreement with my eyes; how then might my eyes be looking on a virgin?

2For what is God’s reward from on high, or the heritage given by the Ruler of all from heaven?

3Is it not trouble for the sinner, and destruction for the evil-doers?

4Does he not see my ways, and are not my steps all numbered?

5If I have gone in false ways, or my foot has been quick in working deceit;

6(Let me be measured in upright scales, and let God see my righteousness:)

7If my steps have been turned out of the way, or if my heart went after my eyes, or if the property of another is in my hands;

8Let me put seed in the earth for another to have the fruit of it, and let my produce be uprooted.

9If my heart went after another man’s wife, or if I was waiting secretly at my neighbour’s door;

10Then let my wife give pleasure to another man and let others make use of her body.

11For that would be a crime; it would be an act for which punishment would be measured out by the judges:

12It would be a fire burning even to destruction, and taking away all my produce.

13If I did wrong in the cause of my man-servant, or my woman-servant, when they went to law with me;

14What then will I do when God comes as my judge? and what answer may I give to his questions?

15Did not God make him as well as me? did he not give us life in our mothers’ bodies?

16If I kept back the desire of the poor; if the widow’s eye was looking for help to no purpose;

17If I kept my food for myself, and did not give some of it to the child with no father;

18(For I was cared for by God as by a father from my earliest days; he was my guide from the body of my mother;)

19If I saw one near to death for need of clothing, and that the poor had nothing covering him;

20If his back did not give me a blessing, and the wool of my sheep did not make him warm;

21If my hand had been lifted up against him who had done no wrong, when I saw that I was supported by the judges;

22May my arm be pulled from my body, and be broken from its base.

23For the fear of God kept me back, and because of his power I might not do such things.

24If I made gold my hope, or if I ever said to the best gold, I have put my faith in you;

25If I was glad because my wealth was great, and because my hand had got together a great store;

26If, when I saw the sun shining, and the moon moving on its bright way,

27A secret feeling of worship came into my heart, and my hand gave kisses from my mouth;

28That would have been another sin to be rewarded with punishment by the judges; for I would have been false to God on high.

29If I was glad at the trouble of my hater, and gave cries of joy when evil overtook him;

30(For I did not let my mouth give way to sin, in putting a curse on his life;)

31If the men of my tent did not say, Who has not had full measure of his meat?

32The traveller did not take his night’s rest in the street, and my doors were open to anyone on a journey;

33If I kept my evil doings covered, and my sin in the secret of my breast,

34For fear of the great body of people, or for fear that families might make sport of me, so that I kept quiet, and did not go out of my door;

35If only God would give ear to me, and the Ruler of all would give me an answer! or if what he has against me had been put in writing!

36Truly I would take up the book in my hands; it would be to me as a crown;

37I would make clear the number of my steps, I would put it before him like a prince! The words of Job are ended.

38If my land has made an outcry against me, or the ploughed earth has been in sorrow;

39If I have taken its produce without payment, causing the death of its owners;

40Then in place of grain let thorns come up, and in place of barley evil-smelling plants.

Acts 14

1Now in Iconium they went together to the Synagogue of the Jews and gave such teaching that a great number of Jews and Greeks had faith.

2But those Jews who had not the faith, made the minds of the Gentiles bitter against the brothers.

3So they kept there for a long time, taking heart in the Lord, who gave witness to the word of his grace by causing signs and wonders to be done by their hands.

4But there was a division among the people of the town; some were on the side of the Jews and some on the side of the Apostles.

5And when a violent attempt was made by the Gentiles and the Jews, with their rulers, to make an attack on them and have them stoned,

6Having got news of it, they went in flight to the towns of Lycaonia, Lystra, and Derbe, and the country round about:

7And went on preaching the good news there.

8And at Lystra there was a certain man, who from birth had been without the use of his feet, never having had the power of walking.

9This man was giving ear to the preaching of Paul, who, looking at him, and seeing that he had faith to be made well,

10Said in a loud voice, Get up on your feet. And, jumping up, he went walking about.

11And when the people saw what Paul had done, they said in a loud voice, in the language of Lycaonia, The gods have come down to us in the form of men.

12And they gave the name of Jupiter to Barnabas, and to Paul that of Mercury, because he was the chief talker.

13And the priest of the image of Jupiter, which was before the town, took oxen and flowers to the doors of the town, and was about to make an offering with the people.

14But when this came to the ears of the Apostles, Paul and Barnabas, they went running out among the people, parting their clothing, and crying out,

15Good people, why are you doing these things? We are men with the same feelings as you, and we give you the good news so that you may be turned away from these foolish things to the living God, who made the heaven and the earth and the sea and all things in them:

16Who in the past let all nations go in the ways which seemed good to them.

17But he was not without witness, because he did good, and gave you rain from heaven and times of fruit, making your hearts full of food and joy.

18And even with these words, it was hard for them to keep the people from making an offering to them.

19But some Jews came to that place from Antioch and Iconium, and got control over the people; and after stoning Paul, they had him pulled out of the town, taking him for dead.

20But when the disciples came round him, he got up and went into the town: and the day after he went away with Barnabas to Derbe.

21And having made a number of disciples through the preaching of the good news in that town, they went back to Lystra and Iconium and Antioch,

22Making strong the souls of the disciples, saying to them that they were to keep the faith, and that we have to go through troubles of all sorts to come into the kingdom of God.

23And when they had made selection of some to be rulers in every church, and had given themselves to prayer and kept themselves from food, they put them into the care of the Lord in whom they had faith.

24And they went through Pisidia and came to Pamphylia.

25And, after preaching the word in Perga, they went down to Attalia;

26And from there they went by ship to Antioch, where they had been handed over to the grace of God for the work which they had not done.

27And when they came there, and had got the church together, they gave them an account of all the things which God had done through them, and how he had made open a door of faith to the Gentiles.

28And they were with the disciples there for a long time.

Leave a Reply

