May 25

1 Samuel 8

1Now when Samuel was old, he made his sons judges over Israel.

2The name of his first son was Joel and the name of his second Abijah: they were judges in Beer-sheba.

3And his sons did not go in his ways, but moved by the love of money took rewards, and were not upright in judging.

4Then all the responsible men of Israel got together and went to Samuel at Ramah,

5And said to him, See now, you are old, and your sons do not go in your ways: give us a king now to be our judge, so that we may be like the other nations.

6But Samuel was not pleased when they said to him, Give us a king to be our judge. And Samuel made prayer to the Lord.

7And the Lord said to Samuel, Give ear to the voice of the people and what they say to you: they have not been turned away from you, but they have been turned away from me, not desiring me to be king over them.

8As they have done from the first, from the day when I took them out of Egypt till this day, turning away from me and worshipping other gods, so now they are acting in the same way to you.

9Give ear now to their voice: but make a serious protest to them, and give them a picture of the sort of king who will be their ruler.

10And Samuel said all these words of the Lord to the people who were desiring a king.

11And he said, This is the sort of king who will be your ruler: he will take your sons and make them his servants, his horsemen, and drivers of his war-carriages, and they will go running before his war-carriages;

12And he will make them captains of thousands and of fifties; some he will put to work ploughing and cutting his grain and making his instruments of war and building his war-carriages.

13Your daughters he will take to be makers of perfumes and cooks and bread-makers.

14He will take your fields and your vine-gardens and your olive-gardens, all the best of them, and give them to his servants.

15He will take a tenth of your seed and of the fruit of your vines and give it to his servants.

16He will take your men-servants and your servant-girls, and the best of your oxen and your asses and put them to his work.

17He will take a tenth of your sheep: and you will be his servants.

18Then you will be crying out because of your king whom you have taken for yourselves; but the Lord will not give you an answer in that day.

19But the people gave no attention to the voice of Samuel; and they said, No, but we will have a king over us,

20So that we may be like the other nations, and so that our king may be our judge and go out before us to war.

21Then Samuel, after hearing all the people had to say, went and gave an account of it to the Lord.

22And the Lord said to Samuel, Give ear to their voice and make a king for them. Then Samuel said to the men of Israel, Let every man go back to his town.

Psalms 54

To the chief music-maker; on Neginoth. Maschil. Of David. When the Ziphites came and said to Saul, Is not David keeping himself secret among us?

1 Let your name be my salvation, O God; let my cause be judged by your strength.

2Let my prayer come before you, O God; give ear to the words of my mouth.

3For men who are going after me have come out against me, violent men are purposing to take my soul; they have not put God before their eyes. (Selah.)

4See, God is my helper: the Lord is the great supporter of my soul.

5Let the evil works of my haters come back on them again; let them be cut off by your good faith.

6Freely will I make my offerings to you; I will give praise to your name, O Lord, for it is good.

7Because it has been my saviour from all my trouble; and my eyes have seen the punishment of my haters.

Romans 1:1-15

1Paul, a servant of Jesus Christ, an Apostle by the selection of God, given authority as a preacher of the good news,

2Of which God had given word before by his prophets in the holy Writings,

3About his Son who, in the flesh, came from the family of David,

4But was marked out as Son of God in power by the Holy Spirit through the coming to life again of the dead; Jesus Christ our Lord,

5Through whom grace has been given to us, sending us out to make disciples to the faith among all nations, for his name:

6Among whom you in the same way have been marked out to be disciples of Jesus Christ:

7To all those who are in Rome, loved by God, marked out as saints: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

8First of all, I give praise to my God through Jesus Christ for you all, because news of your faith has gone into all the world.

9For God is my witness, whose servant I am in spirit in the good news of his Son, that you are at all times in my memory and in my prayers,

10And that I am ever making prayers that God will give me a good journey to you.

11For I have a strong desire to see you, and to give you some grace of the spirit, so that you may be made strong;

12That is to say, that all of us may be comforted together by the faith which is in you and in me.

13You may be certain, my brothers, that it has frequently been in my mind to come to you (but till now I was kept from it), so that I might have some fruit from you in the same way as I have had it from the other nations.

14I have a debt to Greeks and to the nations outside; to the wise and to those who have no learning.

15For which reason I have the desire, as far as I am able, to give the knowledge of the good news to you who are in Rome.

Leave a Reply

