June 1

1 Samuel 16

1And the Lord said to Samuel, How long will you go on sorrowing for Saul, seeing that I have put him from his place as king over Israel? Take oil in your vessel and go; I will send you to Jesse, the Beth-lehemite: for I have got a king for myself among his sons.

2And Samuel said, How is it possible for me to go? If Saul gets news of it he will put me to death. And the Lord said, Take a young cow with you and say, I have come to make an offering to the Lord.

3And send for Jesse to be present at the offering, and I will make clear to you what you are to do: and you are to put the holy oil on him whose name I give you.

4And Samuel did as the Lord said and came to Beth-lehem. And the responsible men of the town came out to him in fear and said, Do you come in peace?

5And he said, In peace: I have come to make an offering to the Lord: make yourselves clean and come with me to make the offering. And he made Jesse and his sons clean, and sent for them to be present at the offering.

6Now when they came, looking at Eliab, he said, Clearly the man of the Lord’s selection is before him.

7But the Lord said to Samuel, Do not take note of his face or how tall he is, because I will not have him: for the Lord’s view is not man’s; man takes note of the outer form, but the Lord sees the heart.

8Then Jesse sent for Abinadab and made him come before Samuel. And he said, The Lord has not taken this one.

9Then Jesse made Shammah come before him. And he said, The Lord has not taken this one.

10And Jesse made his seven sons come before Samuel. And Samuel said to Jesse, The Lord has not taken any of these.

11Then Samuel said to Jesse, Are all your children here? And he said, There is still the youngest, and he is looking after the sheep. And Samuel said to Jesse, Send and make him come here: for we will not take our seats till he is here.

12So he sent and made him come in. Now he had red hair and beautiful eyes and pleasing looks. And the Lord said, Come, put the oil on him, for this is he.

13Then Samuel took the bottle of oil, and put the oil on him there among his brothers: and from that day the spirit of the Lord came on David with power. So Samuel went back to Ramah.

14Now the spirit of the Lord had gone from Saul, and an evil spirit from the Lord was troubling him.

15And Saul’s servants said to him, See now, an evil spirit from God is troubling you.

16Now give orders to your servants who are here before you to go in search of a man who is an expert player on a corded instrument: and it will be that when the evil spirit from God is on you, he will make music for you on his instrument, and you will get well.

17And Saul said to his servants, Then get me a man who is an expert player, and make him come to me.

18Then one of the servants in answer said, I have seen a son of Jesse, the Beth-lehemite, who is expert at playing, and a strong man and a man of war; and he is wise in his words, and pleasing in looks, and the Lord is with him.

19So Saul sent his servants to Jesse and said, Send me your son David who is with the sheep.

20And Jesse took five cakes of bread and a skin of wine and a young goat and sent them to Saul by David.

21And David came to Saul, waiting before him: and he became very dear to Saul, who made him his servant, giving him the care of his arms.

22And Saul sent to Jesse saying, Let David be with me, for he is pleasing to me.

23And whenever the evil spirit from God came on Saul, David took his instrument and made music: so new life came to Saul, and he got well, and the evil spirit went away from him.

Psalms 61

To the chief music-maker. On a corded instrument. Of David.

1 Let my cry come to you, O God; let your ears be open to my prayer.

2From the end of the earth will I send up my cry to you, when my heart is overcome: take me to the rock which is over-high for me.

3For you have been my secret place, and my high tower from those who made war on me.

4I will make your tent my resting-place for ever: I will keep myself under the cover of your wings. (Selah.)

5For you, O God, have made answer to my prayers; you have given me the heritage of those who give honour to your name.

6You will give the king long life; and make his years go on through the generations.

7May the seat of his authority be before God for ever; may mercy and righteousness keep him safe.

8So will I make songs in praise of your name for ever, giving to God that which is right day by day.

Romans 7

1Is it not clear, my brothers (I am using an argument to those who have knowledge of the law), that the law has power over a man as long as he is living?

2For the woman who has a husband is placed by the law under the power of her husband as long as he is living; but if her husband is dead, she is free from the law of the husband.

3So if, while the husband is living, she is joined to another man, she will get the name of one who is untrue to her husband: but if the husband is dead, she is free from the law, so that she is not untrue, even if she takes another man.

4In the same way, my brothers, you were made dead to the law through the body of Christ, so that you might be joined to another, even to him who came again from the dead, so that we might give fruit to God.

5For when we were in the flesh, the evil passions which came into being through the law were working in our bodies to give the fruit of death.

6But now we are free from the law, having been made dead to that which had power over us; so that we are servants in the new way of the spirit, not in the old way of the letter.

7What then is to be said? is the law sin? in no way. But I would not have had knowledge of sin but for the law: for I would not have been conscious of desire if the law had not said, You may not have a desire for what is another’s.

8But sin, taking its chance through that which was ordered by the law, was working in me every form of desire: because without the law sin is dead.

9And there was a time when I was living without the law: but when the law gave its orders, sin came to life and put me to death;

10And I made the discovery that the law whose purpose was to give life had become a cause of death:

11For I was tricked and put to death by sin, which took its chance through the law.

12But the law is holy, and its orders are holy, upright, and good.

13Was then that which is good, death to me? In no way. But the purpose was that sin might be seen to be sin by working death to me through that which is good; so that through the orders of the law sin might seem much more evil.

14For we are conscious that the law is of the spirit; but I am of the flesh, given into the power of sin.

15And I have no clear knowledge of what I am doing, for that which I have a mind to do, I do not, but what I have hate for, that I do.

16But, if I do that which I have no mind to do, I am in agreement with the law that the law is good.

17So it is no longer I who do it, but the sin living in me.

18For I am conscious that in me, that is, in my flesh, there is nothing good: I have the mind but not the power to do what is right.

19For the good which I have a mind to do, I do not: but the evil which I have no mind to do, that I do.

20But if I do what I have no mind to do, it is no longer I who do it, but the sin living in me.

21So I see a law that, though I have a mind to do good, evil is present in me.

22In my heart I take pleasure in the law of God,

23But I see another law in my body, working against the law of my mind, and making me the servant of the law of sin which is in my flesh.

24How unhappy am I! who will make me free from the body of this death?

25I give praise to God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So with my mind I am a servant to the law of God, but with my flesh to the law of sin.

Leave a Reply

