June 3

1 Samuel 17:55-58

55And when Saul saw David going out against the Philistine, he said to Abner, the captain of the army, Abner, whose son is this young man? And Abner said, On your life, O king, I have no idea.

56And the king said, Make search and see whose son this young man is.

57And when David was coming back after the destruction of the Philistine, Abner took him to Saul, with the head of the Philistine in his hand.

58And Saul said to him, Young man, whose son are you? And David in answer said, I am the son of your servant Jesse of Beth-lehem.

1 Samuel 18

1Now after David’s talk with Saul was ended, the soul of Jonathan was joined with the soul of David, and David became as dear to him as his very life.

2And that day Saul took David and would not let him go back to his father’s house.

3Then Jonathan and David made an agreement together, because of Jonathan’s love for David.

4And Jonathan took off the robe he had on and gave it to David, with all his military dress, even to his sword and his bow and the band round his body.

5And David went wherever Saul sent him, and did wisely: and Saul put him at the head of his men of war, and this was pleasing to all the people as well as to Saul’s servants.

6Now on their way, when David came back after the destruction of the Philistine, the women came out of all the towns of Israel, with songs and dances, meeting David with melody and joy and instruments of music.

7And the women, answering one another in their song, said, Saul has put to death his thousands and David his tens of thousands.

8And Saul was very angry and this saying was unpleasing to him; and he said, They have given David credit for tens of thousands, and to me for only thousands: what more is there for him but the kingdom?

9And from that day Saul was looking with envy on David.

10Now on the day after, an evil spirit from God came on Saul with great force and he was acting like a prophet among the men of his house, while David was making music for him, as he did day by day: and Saul had his spear in his hand.

11And Saul, balancing the spear in his hand, said, I will give David a blow, pinning him to the wall. And David got away from him twice.

12And Saul went in fear of David, because the Lord was with David and had gone away from Saul.

13So Saul sent him away, and made him a captain over a thousand; and he went about his business before the people.

14And in all his undertakings David did wisely; and the Lord was with him.

15And when Saul saw how wisely he did, he was in fear of him.

16But David was loved by all Israel and Judah, for he went out and came in before them.

17And Saul said to David, Here is my oldest daughter Merab, whom I will give you for your wife: only be strong for me, fighting in the Lord’s wars. For Saul said, Let it not be through me that his fate comes to him, but through the Philistines.

18And David said to Saul, Who am I, and what is my father’s family in Israel, that I am to be son-in-law to the king?

19But when the time came to give Merab, Saul’s daughter, to David, she was given to Adriel of Meholath.

20And Saul’s daughter Michal was in love with David: and Saul had word of it and was pleased.

21And Saul said, I will give her to him, so that she may be a cause of danger to him, and so that the hands of the Philistines may be against him. So Saul said to David, Today you are to become my son-in-law for the second time.

22And Saul gave his servants orders saying, Have talk with David secretly and say to him, See how the king has delight in you, and how you are loved by all his servants: then be the king’s son-in-law.

23And Saul’s servants said these things to David. And David said, Does it seem to you a small thing to be the king’s son-in-law, seeing that I am a poor man, of no great name?

24And the servants of Saul gave him an account of what David had said.

25And Saul said, Then say to David, The king has no desire for any bride-price, but only for the private parts of a hundred Philistines so that the king may get the better of his haters. But it was in Saul’s mind that David might come to his end by the hands of the Philistines.

26And when his servants said these words to David, he was well pleased to be the son-in-law of the king. And the days were still not past.

27So David and his men got up and went, and put to death two hundred of the Philistines; and David took their private parts and gave the full number of them to the king, so that he might be the king’s son-in-law. And Saul gave him his daughter Michal for his wife.

28And it was clear to Saul that the Lord was with David; and he was loved by all Israel.

29And Saul’s fear of David became all the greater, and he went on hating him, day by day.

30Then the rulers of the Philistines went out to war: and whenever they went out, David did more wisely than all the other servants of Saul, so that his name became greatly honoured.

Psalms 63

A Psalm. Of David. When he was in the waste land of Judah.

1 O God, you are my God; early will I make my search for you: my soul is dry for need of you, my flesh is wasted with desire for you, as a dry and burning land where no water is;

2To see your power and your glory, as I have seen you in the holy place.

3Because your mercy is better than life, my lips will give you praise.

4So will I go on blessing you all my life, lifting up my hands in your name.

5My soul will be comforted, as with good food; and my mouth will give you praise with songs of joy;

6When the memory of you comes to me on my bed, and when I give thought to you in the night-time.

7Because you have been my help, I will have joy in the shade of your wings.

8My soul keeps ever near you: your right hand is my support.

9But those whose desire is my soul’s destruction will go down to the lower parts of the earth.

10They will be cut off by the sword; they will be food for foxes.

11But the king will have joy in God; everyone who takes an oath by him will have cause for pride; but the false mouth will be stopped.

Romans 9:1-29

1I say what is true in Christ, and not what is false, my mind giving witness with me in the Holy Spirit,

2That I am full of sorrow and pain without end.

3For I have a desire to take on myself the curse for my brothers, my family in the flesh:

4Who are Israelites: who have the place of sons, and the glory, and the agreements with God, and the giving of the law, and the worship, and the hope offered by God:

5Whose are the fathers, and of whom came Christ in the flesh, who is over all, God, to whom be blessing for ever. So be it.

6But it is not as if the word of God was without effect. For they are not all Israel, who are of Israel:

7And they are not all children because they are the seed of Abraham; but, In Isaac will your seed be named.

8That is, it is not the children of the flesh, but the children of God’s undertaking, who are named as the seed.

9For this is the word of God’s undertaking, At this time will I come, and Sarah will have a son.

10And not only so, but Rebecca being about to have a child by our father Isaac–

11Before the children had come into existence, or had done anything good or bad, in order that God’s purpose and his selection might be effected, not by works, but by him whose purpose it is,

12It was said to her, The older will be the servant of the younger.

13Even as it is said, I had love for Jacob, but for Esau I had hate.

14What may we say then? is God not upright? let it not be said.

15For he says to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and pity on whom I will have pity.

16So then, it is not by the desire or by the attempt of man, but by the mercy of God.

17For the holy Writings say to Pharaoh, For this same purpose did I put you on high, so that I might make my power seen in you, and that there might be knowledge of my name through all the earth.

18So then, at his pleasure he has mercy on a man, and at his pleasure he makes the heart hard.

19But you will say to me, Why does he still make us responsible? who is able to go against his purpose?

20But, O man, who are you, to make answer against God? May the thing which is made say to him who made it, Why did you make me so?

21Or has not the potter the right to make out of one part of his earth a vessel for honour, and out of another a vessel for shame?

22What if God, desiring to let his wrath and his power be seen, for a long time put up with the vessels of wrath which were ready for destruction:

23And to make clear the wealth of his glory to vessels of mercy, which he had before made ready for glory,

24Even us, who were marked out by him, not only from the Jews, but from the Gentiles?

25As he says in Hosea, They will be named my people who were not my people, and she will be loved who was not loved.

26And in the place where it was said to them, You are not my people, there they will be named the sons of the living God.

27And Isaiah says about Israel, Even if the number of the children of Israel is as the sand of the sea, only a small part will get salvation:

28For the Lord will give effect to his word on the earth, putting an end to it and cutting it short.

29And, as Isaiah had said before, If the Lord of armies had not given us a seed, we would have been like Sodom and Gomorrah.

Leave a Reply

