June 9

1 Samuel 26

1And the Ziphites came to Saul at Gibeah, and said, Is not David waiting secretly near us in the hill of Hachilah, before the waste land?

2Then Saul went down to the waste land of Ziph, taking with him three thousand of the best men of Israel, to make search for David in the waste land of Ziph.

3And Saul put up his tents on the hill of Hachilah, which is in front of the waste land on the road. But David was in the waste land, and he saw that Saul was coming after him.

4And so David sent out watchers, and got word from them that Saul was certainly coming.

5And David got up and came to the place where Saul’s tents were: and David had a view of the place where Saul was sleeping with Abner, the son of Ner, the captain of his army: and Saul was sleeping inside the ring of carts, and the tents of the people were all round him.

6Then David said to Ahimelech the Hittite, and to Abishai, the son of Zeruiah, brother of Joab, Who will go down with me to the tents of Saul? And Abishai said, I will go down with you.

7So David and Abishai came down to the army by night: and Saul was sleeping inside the ring of carts with his spear planted in the earth by his head: and Abner and the people were sleeping round him.

8Then Abishai said to David, God has given up your hater into your hands today; now let me give him one blow through to the earth with his spear, and there will be no need to give him a second.

9And David said to Abishai Do not put him to death; for who, without sin, may put out his hand against the man on whom the Lord has put the holy oil?

10And David said, By the living Lord, the Lord will send destruction on him; the natural day of his death will come, or he will go into the fight and come to his end.

11Never will my hand be stretched out against the man marked with the holy oil; but take the spear which is by his head and the vessel of water, and let us go.

12So David took the spear and the vessel of water from Saul’s head; and they got away without any man seeing them, or being conscious of their coming, or awaking; for they were all sleeping because a deep sleep from the Lord had come on them.

13Then David went over to the other side, and took his place on the top of a mountain some distance away, with a great space between them;

14And crying out to the people and to Abner, the son of Ner, David said, Have you no answer to give, Abner? Then Abner said, Who is that crying out to the king?

15And David said to Abner, Are you not a man of war? is there any other like you in Israel? why then have you not kept watch over your lord the king? for one of the people came in to put the king your lord to death.

16What you have done is not good. By the living Lord, death is the right fate for you, because you have not kept watch over your lord, the man on whom the Lord has put the holy oil. Now see, where is the king’s spear, and the vessel of water which was by his head?

17And Saul, conscious that the voice was David’s, said, Is that your voice, David, my son? And David said, It is my voice, O my lord king.

18And he said, Why does my lord go armed against his servant? what have I done? or what evil is there in me?

19Let my lord the king give ear now to the words of his servant. If it is the Lord who is moving you against me, let him take an offering: but if it is the children of men, may they be cursed before the Lord, for driving me out today and keeping me from my place in the heritage of the Lord, saying, Go, be the servant of other gods.

20Then do not let my blood be drained out on the earth away from the face of the Lord: for the king of Israel has come out to take my life, like one going after birds in the mountains.

21Then Saul said, I have done wrong: come back to me, David my son: I will do you no more wrong, because my life was dear to you today truly, I have been foolish and my error is very great.

22Then David said, Here is the king’s spear! let one of the young men come over and get it.

23And the Lord will give to every man the reward of his righteousness and his faith: because the Lord gave you into my hands today, and I would not put out my hand against the man who has been marked with the holy oil.

24And so, as your life was dear to me today, may my life be dear to the Lord, and may he make me free from all my troubles.

25Then Saul said to David, May a blessing be on you, David, my son; you will do great things and without doubt you will overcome. Then David went on his way, and Saul went back to his place.

Psalms 69

To the chief music-maker; put to Shoshannim. Of David.

1 Be my saviour, O God; because the waters have come in, even to my neck.

2My feet are deep in the soft earth, where there is no support; I have come into deep waters, the waves are flowing over me.

3I am tired with my crying; my throat is burning: my eyes are wasted with waiting for my God.

4Those who have hate for me without cause are greater in number than the hairs of my head; those who are against me, falsely desiring my destruction, are very strong; I gave back what I had not taken away.

5O God, you see how foolish I am; and my wrongdoing is clear to you.

6Let not those who have hope in you be put to shame because of me, O Lord God of armies: let not those who are waiting for you be made low because of me, O God of Israel.

7I have been wounded with sharp words because of you; my face has been covered with shame.

8I have become strange to my brothers, and like a man from a far country to my mother’s children.

9I am on fire with passion for your house; and the hard things which are said about you have come on me.

10My bitter weeping, and my going without food, were turned to my shame.

11When I put on the clothing of grief, they said evil of me.

12I am a cause of wonder to those in authority; a song to those who are given to strong drink.

13But as for me, let my prayer be made to you, O Lord, at a time when you are pleased; O God, give me an answer in your great mercy, for your salvation is certain.

14Take me from the grip of the sticky earth, so that I may not go down into it; let me be lifted up from the deep waters.

15Let me not be covered by the flowing waters; let not the deep waters go over my head, and let me not be shut up in the underworld.

16Give an answer to my words, O Lord; for your mercy is good: be turned to me, because of your great pity.

17Let not your face be covered from your servant, for I am in trouble; quickly give me an answer.

18Come near to my soul, for its salvation: be my saviour, because of those who are against me.

19You have seen my shame, how I was laughed at and made low; my haters are all before you.

20My heart is broken by bitter words, I am full of grief; I made a search for some to have pity on me, but there was no one; I had no comforter.

21They gave me poison for my food; and bitter wine for my drink.

22Let their table before them be for their destruction; let their feasts become a net to take them.

23Let their eyes be blind so that they may not see; let their bodies for ever be shaking.

24Let your curse come on them; let the heat of your wrath overtake them.

25Give their houses to destruction, and let there be no one in their tents.

26Because they are cruel to him against whom your hand is turned; they make bitter the grief of him who is wounded by you.

27Let their punishment be increased; let them not come into your righteousness.

28Let their names be taken from the book of the living, let them not be numbered with the upright.

29But I am poor and full of sorrow; let me be lifted up by your salvation, O Lord.

30I will give praise to the name of God with a song; I will give glory to him for what he has done.

31This will be more pleasing to the Lord than an ox, or a young ox of full growth.

32The poor will see it and be glad: you who are lovers of God, let your hearts have life.

33For the ears of the Lord are open to the poor, and he takes thought for his prisoners.

34Let the heavens and the earth give praise to him, the seas, and everything moving in them.

35For God will be the saviour of Zion, and the builder of the towns of Judah; so that it may be their resting-place and heritage.

36The seed of his servants will have their part in it, and there the lovers of his name will have rest.

Romans 14:1-13

1Do not put on one side him who is feeble in faith, and do not put him in doubt by your reasonings.

2One man has faith to take all things as food: another who is feeble in faith takes only green food.

3Let not him who takes food have a low opinion of him who does not: and let not him who does not take food be a judge of him who does; for he has God’s approval.

4Who are you to make yourself a judge of another man’s servant? it is to his master that he is responsible for good or bad. Yes, his place will be safe, because the Lord is able to keep him from falling.

5This man puts one day before another: to that man they are the same. Let every man be certain in his mind.

6He who keeps the day, keeps it to the Lord; and he who takes food, takes it as to the Lord, for he gives praise to God; and he who does not take food, to the Lord he takes it not, and gives praise to God.

7For every man’s life and every man’s death has a relation to others as well as to himself.

8As long as we have life we are living to the Lord; or if we give up our life it is to the Lord; so if we are living, or if our life comes to an end, we are the Lord’s.

9And for this purpose Christ went into death and came back again, that he might be the Lord of the dead and of the living.

10But you, why do you make yourself your brother’s judge? or again, why have you no respect for your brother? because we will all have to take our place before God as our judge.

11For it is said in the holy Writings, By my life, says the Lord, to me every knee will be bent, and every tongue will give worship to God.

12So every one of us will have to give an account of himself to God.

13Then let us not be judges of one another any longer: but keep this in mind, that no man is to make it hard for his brother, or give him cause for doubting.

Leave a Reply

