June 12

2 Samuel 1

1Now after the death of Saul, when David, having come back from the destruction of the Amalekites, had been in Ziklag for two days;

2On the third day a man came from Saul’s tents, with his clothing out of order and earth on his head: and when he came to David, he went down on the earth and gave him honour.

3And David said to him, Where have you come from? And he said, I have come in flight from the tents of Israel.

4And David said to him, How did things go? Give me the news. And in answer he said, The people have gone in flight from the fight, and a great number of them are dead; and Saul and his son Jonathan are dead.

5And David said to the young man who gave him the news, Why are you certain that Saul and his son Jonathan are dead?

6And the young man said, I came by chance to Mount Gilboa, and I saw Saul supporting himself on his spear; and the war-carriages and horsemen overtook him.

7And looking back, he saw me and gave a cry to me. And answering him I said, Here am I.

8And he said to me, Who are you? And I said, I am an Amalekite.

9Then he said to me, Come here to my side, and put me to death, for the pain of death has me in its grip but my life is still strong in me.

10So I put my foot on him and gave him his death-blow, because I was certain that he would not go on living after his fall: and I took the crown from his head and the band from his arm, and I have them here for my lord.

11Then David gave way to bitter grief, and so did all the men who were with him:

12And till evening they gave themselves to sorrow and weeping, and took no food, weeping for Saul and for Jonathan, his son, and for the people of the Lord and for the men of Israel; because they had come to their end by the sword.

13And David said to the young man who had given him the news, Where do you come from? And he said, I am the son of a man from a strange land; I am an Amalekite.

14And David said to him, Had you no fear of stretching out your hand to put to death the one marked with the holy oil?

15And David sent for one of his young men and said, Go near and put an end to him. And he put him to death.

16And David said to him, May your blood be on your head; for your mouth has given witness against you, saying, I have put to death the man marked with the holy oil.

17Then David made this song of grief for Saul and Jonathan, his son:

18(It is recorded in the book of Jashar for teaching to the sons of Judah) and he said:

19The glory, O Israel, is dead on your high places! How have the great ones been made low!

20Give no news of it in Gath, let it not be said in the streets of Ashkelon; or the daughters of the Philistines will be glad, the daughters of men without circumcision will be uplifted in joy.

21O mountains of Gilboa, let there be no dew or rain on you, you fields of death: for there the arms of the strong have been shamed, the arms of Saul, as if he had not been marked with the holy oil.

22From the blood of the dead, from the fat of the strong, the bow of Jonathan was not turned back, the sword of Saul did not come back unused.

23Saul and Jonathan were loved and pleasing; in their lives and in their death they were not parted; they went more quickly than eagles, they were stronger than lions.

24O daughters of Israel, have sorrow for Saul, by whom you were delicately clothed in robes of red, with ornaments of gold on your dresses.

25How have the great ones been made low in the fight! Jonathan is dead on your high places.

26I am full of grief for you, my brother Jonathan: very dear have you been to me: your love for me was a wonder, greater than the love of women.

27How have the great ones been made low, and the arms of war broken!

Psalms 72

Of Solomon.

1 Give the king your authority, O God, and your righteousness to the king’s son.

2May he be a judge of your people in righteousness, and make true decisions for the poor.

3May the mountains give peace to the people, and the hills righteousness.

4May he be a judge of the poor among the people, may he give salvation to the children of those who are in need; by him let the violent be crushed.

5May his life go on as long as the sun and moon, through all generations.

6May he come down like rain on the cut grass; like showers watering the earth.

7In his days may the upright do well, living in peace as long as there is a moon in heaven.

8Let his kingdom be from sea to sea, from the River to the ends of the earth.

9Let those who are against him go down before him; and let his haters be low in the dust.

10Let the kings of Tarshish and of the islands come back with offerings; let the kings of Sheba and Seba give of their stores.

11Yes, let all kings go down before him; let all nations be his servants.

12For he will be a saviour to the poor in answer to his cry; and to him who is in need, without a helper.

13He will have pity on the poor, and be the saviour of those who are in need.

14He will keep their souls free from evil designs and violent attacks; and their blood will be of value in his eyes.

15May he have long life, and may gold from Sheba be given to him: may prayers be made for him at all times; may blessings be on him every day.

16May there be wide-stretching fields of grain in the land, shaking on the top of the mountains, full of fruit like Lebanon: may its stems be unnumbered like the grass of the earth.

17May his name go on for ever, as long as the sun: may men be blessing themselves by him; may all nations be blessing his name.

18Praise be to the Lord God, the God of Israel, the only doer of wonders.

19Praise to the glory of his noble name for ever; let all the earth be full of his glory. So be it, So be it.

A Psalm. Of Asaph.

20 The prayers of David, the son of Jesse, are ended.

Romans 16

1It is my desire to say a good word for Phoebe, who is a servant of the church in Cenchreae:

2That you will take her in kindly, after the way of the saints, as one who is the Lord’s, and give her help in anything in which she may have need of you: because she has been a help to a great number and to myself.

3Give my love to Prisca and Aquila, workers with me in Christ Jesus,

4Who for my life put their necks in danger; to whom not only I but all the churches of the Gentiles are in debt:

5And say a kind word to the church which is in their house. Give my love to my dear Epaenetus, who is the first fruit of Asia to Christ.

6Give my love to Mary, who gave much care to you.

7Give my love to Andronicus and Junia, my relations, who were in prison with me, who are noted among the Apostles, and who were in Christ before me.

8Give my love to Ampliatus, who is dear to me in the Lord,

9Give my love to Urbanus, a worker in Christ with us, and to my dear Stachys.

10Give my love to Apelles, who has the approval of Christ. Say a kind word to those who are of the house of Aristobulus.

11Give my love to Herodion, my relation. Say a kind word to those of the house of Narcissus, who are in the Lord.

12Give my love to Tryphaena and Tryphosa, workers in the Lord. Give my love to my dear Persis, who did much work in the Lord.

13Give my love to Rufus, one of the Lord’s selection, and to his mother and mine.

14Give my love to Asyncritus, Phlegon, Hermes, Patrobas, Hermas, and the brothers who are with them.

15Give my love to Philologus and Julia, Nereus and his sister, and Olympas, and all the saints who are with them.

16Give one another a holy kiss. All the churches of Christ send their love to you.

17Now, it is my desire, brothers, that you will take note of those who are causing division and trouble among you, quite against the teaching which was given to you: and keep away from them.

18For such people are not servants of the Lord Christ, but of their stomachs; and by their smooth and well-said words the hearts of those who have no knowledge of evil are tricked.

19For all have knowledge of how you do what you are ordered. For this reason I have joy in you, but it is my desire that you may be wise in what is good, and without knowledge of evil.

20And the God of peace will be crushing Satan under your feet before long. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

21Timothy, who is working with me, sends his love to you, so do Lucius and Jason and Sosipater, my relations.

22I, Tertius, who have done the writing of this letter, send love in the Lord.

23Gaius, with whom I am living, whose house is open to all the church, sends his love, so does Erastus, the manager of the accounts of the town, and Quartus, the brother.

25Now to him who is able to make you strong in agreement with the good news which I gave you and the preaching of Jesus Christ, in the light of the revelation of that secret which has been kept through times eternal,

26But is now made clear; and by the writings of the prophets, by the order of the eternal God, the knowledge of it has been given to all the nations, so that they may come under the rule of the faith;

27To the only wise God, through Jesus Christ, be the glory for ever. So be it.

Leave a Reply

