June 17

2 Samuel 7

1Now when the king was living in his house, and the Lord had given him rest from war on every side;

2The king said to Nathan the prophet, See now, I am living in a house of cedar, but the ark of God is housed inside the curtains of a tent.

3And Nathan said to the king, Go and do whatever is in your heart; for the Lord is with you.

4Now that night the word of the Lord came to Nathan, saying,

5Go and say to my servant David, The Lord says, Are you to be the builder of a house, a living-place for me?

6For from the day when I took the children of Israel up out of Egypt till this day, I have had no house, but have gone from place to place in a tent.

7In all the places where I went with all the children of Israel, did I ever say to any of the judges of Israel, to whom I gave the care of my people Israel, Why have you not made me a house of cedar?

8Then say these words to my servant David, The Lord of armies says, I took you from the fields, from keeping the sheep, so that you might be a ruler over my people, over my people Israel:

9And I have been with you wherever you went, cutting off before you all those who were against you; and I will make your name great, like the name of the greatest ones of the earth.

10And I will make a resting-place for my people Israel, planting them there, so that they may be living in the place which is theirs, and never again be moved; and never again will they be troubled by evil men as they were at the first,

11From the time when I put judges over my people Israel; and I will give you peace from all who are against you. And the Lord says to you that he will make you the head of a line of kings.

12And when the time comes for you to go to rest with your fathers, I will put in your place your seed after you, the offspring of your body, and I will make his kingdom strong.

13He will be the builder of a house for my name, and I will make the seat of his authority certain for ever.

14I will be to him a father and he will be to me a son: if he does wrong, I will give him punishment with the rod of men and with the blows of the children of men;

15But my mercy will not be taken away from him, as I took it from him who was before you.

16And your family and your kingdom will keep their place before me for ever: the seat of your authority will never be overturned.

17So Nathan gave David an account of all these words and this vision.

18Then David the king went in and took his seat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is my family, that you have been my guide till now?

19And this was only a small thing to you, O Lord God; but your words have even been about the far-off future of your servant’s family, O Lord God!

20What more may David say to you? for you have knowledge of your servant, O Lord God.

21Because of your word and from your heart, you have done all this great work, and let your servant see it.

22Truly you are great, O Lord God: there is no one like you and no other God but you, as is clear from everything which has come to our ears.

23And what other nation in the earth, like your people Israel, did a god go out to take for himself, to be his people, and to make a name for himself, and to do great and strange things for them, driving out a nation and its gods from before his people?

24But you took and made strong for yourself your people Israel, to be your people for ever; and you, Lord, became their God.

25And now, O Lord God, may the word which you have said about your servant and about his family, be made certain for ever, and may you do as you have said!

26And let your name be made great for ever, and let men say, The Lord of armies is God over Israel: and let the family of David your servant be made strong before you!

27For you, O Lord of armies, the God of Israel, have clearly said to your servant, I will make you the head of a family of kings: and so it has come into your servant’s heart to make this prayer to you.

28And now, O Lord God, you are God and your words are true and you have said you will give your servant this good thing;

29So may it be your pleasure to give your blessing to the family of your servant, so that it may go on for ever before you: (for you, O Lord God, have said it,) and may your blessing be on your servant’s family line for ever!

2 Samuel 8

1And it came about after this that David made an attack on the Philistines and overcame them; and David took the authority of the mother-town from the hands of the Philistines.

2And he overcame the Moabites, and he had them measured with a line when they were stretched out on the earth; marking out two lines for death and one full line for life. So the Moabites became servants to David and gave him offerings.

3And David overcame Hadadezer, the son of Rehob, king of Zobah, when he went to make his power seen by the River.

4And David took from him one thousand, seven hundred horsemen and twenty thousand footmen: and David had the leg-muscles of the horses cut, only keeping enough of them for a hundred war-carriages.

5And when the Aramaeans of Damascus came to the help of Hadadezer, king of Zobah, David put to the sword twenty-two thousand of the Aramaeans.

6And David put armed forces in Aram of Damascus: and the Aramaeans became servants to David and gave him offerings. And the Lord made David overcome wherever he went.

7And David took their gold body-covers from the servants of Hadadezer and took them to Jerusalem.

8And from Tebah and Berothai, towns of Hadadezer, King David took a great store of brass.

9And when Tou, king of Hamath, had news that David had overcome all the army of Hadadezer,

10He sent his son Hadoram to David, with words of peace and blessing, because he had overcome Hadadezer in the fight, for Hadadezer had wars with Tou; and Hadoram took with him vessels of silver and gold and brass:

11These King David made holy to the Lord, together with the silver and gold which he had taken from the nations he had overcome–

12The nations of Edom and Moab, and the children of Ammon and the Philistines and the Amalekites and the goods he had taken from Hadadezer, the son of Rehob, king of Zobah.

13And David got great honour for himself, when he came back, by the destruction of Edom in the valley of Salt, to the number of eighteen thousand men.

14And he put armed forces in Edom; all through Edom he had armed forces stationed, and all the Edomites became servants to David. And the Lord made David overcome wherever he went.

15And David was king over all Israel, judging and giving right decisions for all his people.

16And Joab, the son of Zeruiah, was chief of the army; and Jehoshaphat, the son of Ahilud, was keeper of the records;

17And Zadok and Abiathar, the son of Ahimelech, the son of Ahitub, were priests; and Seraiah was the scribe;

18And Benaiah, the son of Jehoiada, was over the Cherethites and the Pelethites; and David’s sons were priests.

Daniel 4

1Nebuchadnezzar the king, to all the peoples, nations, and languages living in all the earth: May your peace be increased.

2It has seemed good to me to make clear the signs and wonders which the Most High God has done with me.

3How great are his signs! and how full of power are his wonders! his kingdom is an eternal kingdom and his rule goes on from generation to generation.

4I, Nebuchadnezzar, was at rest in my place, and all things were going well for me in my great house:

5I saw a dream which was a cause of great fear to me; I was troubled by the images of my mind on my bed, and by the visions of my head.

6And I gave orders for all the wise men of Babylon to come in before me so that they might make clear to me the sense of my dream.

7Then the wonder-workers, the users of secret arts, the Chaldaeans, and the readers of signs came in to me: and I put the dream before them but they did not make clear the sense of it to me.

8But at last Daniel came in before me, he whose name was Belteshazzar, after the name of my god, and in whom is the spirit of the holy gods: and I put the dream before him, saying,

9O Belteshazzar, master of the wonder-workers, because I am certain that the spirit of the holy gods is in you, and you are troubled by no secret; this is the dream which I saw: make clear to me its sense.

10On my bed I saw a vision: there was a tree in the middle of the earth, and it was very high.

11And the tree became tall and strong, stretching up to heaven, and to be seen from the ends of the earth:

12Its leaves were fair and it had much fruit, and in it was food enough for all: the beasts of the field had shade under it, and the birds of heaven were resting in its branches, and it gave food to all living things.

13In the visions of my head on my bed I saw a watcher, a holy one, coming down from heaven,

14Crying out with a loud voice; and this is what he said: Let the tree be cut down and its branches broken off; let its leaves be taken off and its fruit sent in every direction: let the beasts get away from under it and the birds from its branches:

15But keep its broken end and its roots still in the earth, even with a band of iron and brass; let him have the young grass of the field for food, and let him be wet with the dew of heaven, and let his part be with the beasts.

16Let his heart be changed from that of a man, and the heart of a beast be given to him; and let seven times go by him.

17This order is fixed by the watchers, and the decision is by the word of the holy ones: so that the living may be certain that the Most High is ruler over the kingdom of men, and gives it to any man at his pleasure, lifting up over it the lowest of men.

18This dream I, King Nebuchadnezzar, saw; and do you, O Belteshazzar, make clear the sense of it, for all the wise men of my kingdom are unable to make the sense of it clear to me; but you are able, for the spirit of the holy gods is in you.

19Then Daniel, whose name was Belteshazzar, was at a loss for a time, his thoughts troubling him. The king made answer and said, Belteshazzar, do not be troubled by the dream or by the sense of it. Belteshazzar, answering, said, My lord, may the dream be about your haters, and its sense about those who are against you.

20The tree which you saw, which became tall and strong, stretching up to heaven and seen from the ends of the earth;

21Which had fair leaves and much fruit, and had in it food for all; under which the beasts of the field were living, and in the branches of which the birds of heaven had their resting-places:

22It is you, O King, who have become great and strong: for your power is increased and stretching up to heaven, and your rule to the end of the earth.

23And as for the vision which the king saw of a watcher, a holy one, coming down from heaven, saying, Let the tree be cut down and given to destruction;

24This is the sense of it, O King, and it is the decision of the Most High which has come on my lord the king:

25That they will send you out from among men, to be with the beasts of the field; they will give you grass for your food like the oxen, and you will be wet with the dew of heaven, and seven times will go by you, till you are certain that the Most High is ruler in the kingdom of men, and gives it to any man at his pleasure.

26And as they gave orders to let the broken end and the roots of the tree be, so your kingdom will be safe for you after it is clear to you that the heavens are ruling.

27For this cause, O King, let my suggestion be pleasing to you, and let your sins be covered by righteousness and your evil-doing by mercy to the poor, so that the time of your well-being may be longer.

28All this came to King Nebuchadnezzar.

29At the end of twelve months he was walking on the roof of his great house in Babylon.

30The king made answer and said, Is this not great Babylon, which I have made for the living-place of kings, by the strength of my power and for the glory of my honour?

31While the word was still in the king’s mouth, a voice came down from heaven, saying, O King Nebuchadnezzar, to you it is said: The kingdom has gone from you:

32And they will send you out from among men, to be with the beasts of the field; they will give you grass for your food like the oxen, and seven times will go by you, till you are certain that the Most High is ruler in the kingdom of men, and gives it to any man at his pleasure.

33That very hour the order about Nebuchadnezzar was put into effect: and he was sent out from among men, and had grass for his food like the oxen, and his body was wet with the dew of heaven, till his hair became long as eagles’ feathers and his nails like those of birds.

34And at the end of the days, I, Nebuchadnezzar, lifting up my eyes to heaven, got back my reason, and, blessing the Most High, I gave praise and honour to him who is living for ever, whose rule is an eternal rule and whose kingdom goes on from generation to generation.

35And all the people of the earth are as nothing: he does his pleasure in the army of heaven and among the people of the earth: and no one is able to keep back his hand, or say to him, What are you doing?

36At the same time my reason came back to me; and for the glory of my kingdom, my honour and my great name came back to me; and my wise men and my lords were turned to me again; and I was made safe in my kingdom and had more power than before.

37Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, give worship and praise and honour to the King of heaven; for all his works are true and his ways are right: and those who go in pride he is able to make low.

Mark 3:20-35

20And he went into a house. And the people came together again, so that they were not even able to take bread.

21And when his friends had news of it, they went out to get him, saying, He is off his head.

22And the scribes who came down from Jerusalem, said, He has Beelzebub, and, By the ruler of evil spirits he sends evil spirits out of men.

23And turning to them, he said to them in the form of a story, How is it possible for Satan to put out Satan?

24If there is division in a kingdom, that kingdom will come to destruction;

25And if there is division in a house, that house will come to destruction;

26And if Satan is at war with himself, and there is division in him, he will not keep his place but will come to an end.

27But no one is able to go into the house of the strong man and take his goods, without first putting cords round the strong man, and then he will take his goods.

28Truly, I say to you, The sons of men will have forgiveness for all their sins and for all the evil words they say:

29But whoever says evil things against the Holy Spirit will never have forgiveness, but the evil he has done will be with him for ever:

30Because they said, He has an unclean spirit.

31And his mother and brothers came and were outside, and sent for him, requesting to see him.

32And a great number were seated round him; and they said to him, See, your mother and your brothers are outside looking for you.

33And he said in answer, Who are my mother and my brothers?

34And looking round at those who were seated about him, he said, See, my mother and my brothers!

35Whoever does God’s pleasure, the same is my brother, and sister, and mother.

Leave a Reply

