July 16

1 Kings 17

1And Elijah the Tishbite, of Tishbe in Gilead, said to Ahab, By the living Lord, the God of Israel, whose servant I am, there will be no dew or rain in these years, but only at my word.

2Then the word of the Lord came to him, saying,

3Go from here in the direction of the east, and keep yourself in a secret place by the stream Cherith, east of Jordan.

4The water of the stream will be your drink, and by my orders the ravens will give you food there.

5So he went and did as the Lord said, living by the stream Cherith, east of Jordan.

6And the ravens took him bread in the morning and meat in the evening; and the water of the stream was his drink.

7Now after a time the stream became dry, because there was no rain in the land.

8Then the word of the Lord came to him, saying,

9Up! go now to Zarephath, in Zidon, and make your living-place there; I have given orders to a widow woman there to see that you have food.

10So he got up and went to Zarephath; and when he came to the door of the town, he saw a widow woman getting sticks together; and crying out to her he said, Will you give me a little water in a vessel for my drink?

11And when she was going to get it, he said to her, And get me with it a small bit of bread.

12Then she said, By the life of the Lord your God, I have nothing but a little meal in my store, and a drop of oil in the bottle; and now I am getting two sticks together so that I may go in and make it ready for me and my son, so that we may have a meal before our death.

13And Elijah said to her, Have no fear; go and do as you have said, but first make me a little cake of it and come and give it to me, and then make something for yourself and your son.

14For this is the word of the Lord, the God of Israel: The store of meal will not come to an end, and the bottle will never be without oil, till the day when the Lord sends rain on the earth.

15So she went and did as Elijah said; and she and he and her family had food for a long time.

16The store of meal did not come to an end, and the bottle was never without oil, as the Lord had said by the mouth of Elijah.

17Now after this, the son of the woman of the house became ill, so ill that there was no breath in him.

18And she said to Elijah, What have I to do with you, O man of God? have you come to put God in mind of my sin, and to put my son to death?

19And he said to her, Give your son to me. And lifting him out of her arms, he took him up to his room and put him down on his bed.

20And crying to the Lord he said, O Lord my God, have you sent evil even on the widow whose guest I am, by causing her son’s death?

21And stretching herself out on the child three times, he made his prayer to the Lord, saying, O Lord my God, be pleased to let this child’s life come back to him again.

22And the Lord gave ear to the voice of Elijah, and the child’s spirit came into him again, and he came back to life.

23And Elijah took the child down from his room into the house and gave him to his mother and said to her, See, your son is living.

24Then the woman said to Elijah, Now I am certain that you are a man of God, and that the word of the Lord in your mouth is true.

Amos 1

1The words of Amos, who was among the herdsmen of Tekoa; what he saw about Israel in the days of Uzziah, king of Judah, and in the days of Jeroboam, the son of Joash, king of Israel, two years before the earth-shock.

2And he said, The Lord will give a lion’s cry from Zion, his voice will be sounding from Jerusalem; and the fields of the keepers of sheep will become dry, and the top of Carmel will be wasted away.

3These are the words of the Lord: For three crimes of Damascus, and for four, I will not let its fate be changed; because they have been crushing Gilead with iron grain-crushing instruments.

4And I will send a fire into the house of Hazael, burning up the great houses of Ben-hadad.

5And I will have the locks of the door of Damascus broken, and him who is seated in power cut off from the valley of Aven, and him in whose hand is the rod from the house of Eden; and the people of Aram will go away as prisoners into Kir, says the Lord.

6These are the words of the Lord: For three crimes of Gaza, and for four, I will not let its fate be changed; because they took all the people away prisoners, to give them up to Edom.

7And I will send a fire on the wall of Gaza, burning up its great houses:

8Him who is seated in power I will have cut off from Ashdod, and him in whose hand is the rod from Ashkelon; and my hand will be turned against Ekron, and the rest of the Philistines will come to destruction, says the Lord God.

9These are the words of the Lord: For three crimes of Tyre, and for four, I will not let its fate be changed; because they gave up all the people prisoners to Edom, without giving a thought to the brothers’ agreement between them.

10And I will send a fire on the wall of Tyre, burning up its great houses.

11These are the words of the Lord: For three crimes of Edom, and for four, I will not let its fate be changed; because his sword was turned against his brother, without pity, and his wrath was burning at all times, and he was angry for ever.

12And I will send a fire on Teman, burning up the great houses of Bozrah.

13These are the words of the Lord: For three crimes of the children of Ammon, and for four, I will not let its fate be changed; because in Gilead they had women with child cut open, so that they might make wider the limits of their land.

14And I will make a fire in the wall of Rabbah, burning up its great houses, with loud cries in the days of war, with a storm in the day of the great wind:

15And their king will be made prisoner, he and his captains together, says the Lord.

1 Corinthians 4

1Let us be judged as servants of Christ, and as those who are responsible for the secret things of God.

2And it is right for such servants to be safe persons.

3But it is a small thing to me that I am judged by you or by man’s judging; I am not even a judge of myself.

4For I am not conscious of any wrong in myself; but this does not make me clear, for it is the Lord who is my judge.

5For this reason let there be no judging before the time, till the Lord comes, who will make clear the secret things of the dark, and the designs of the heart; and then will every man have his praise from God.

6My brothers, it is because of you that I have taken Apollos and myself as examples of these things, so that in us you might see that it is not wise to go farther than what is in the holy Writings, so that no one of you may be lifted up against his brother.

7For who made you better than your brother? or what have you that has not been given to you? but if it has been given to you, what cause have you for pride, as if it had not been given to you?

8For even now you are full, even now you have wealth, you have been made kings without us: truly, I would be glad if you were kings, so that we might be kings with you.

9For it seems to me that God has put us the Apostles last of all, as men whose fate is death: for we are put on view to the world, and to angels, and to men.

10We are made to seem foolish for Christ, but you are wise in Christ; we are feeble, but you are strong; you have glory, but we have shame.

11Even to this hour we are without food, drink, and clothing, we are given blows and have no certain resting-place;

12And with our hands we do the hardest work: when they give us curses we give blessings, when we undergo punishment we take it quietly;

13When evil things are said about us we give gentle answers: we are made as the unclean things of the world, as that for which no one has any use, even till now.

14I am not saying these things to put you to shame, but so that, as my dear children, you may see what is right.

15For even if you had ten thousand teachers in Christ, you have not more than one father: for in Christ Jesus I have given birth to you through the good news.

16So my desire is that you take me as your example.

17For this cause I have sent Timothy to you, who is my dear and true child in the Lord; he will make clear to you my ways in Christ, even as I am teaching everywhere in every church.

18Now some are full of pride, as if I was not coming to you.

19But I will come to you in a short time, if it is pleasing to the Lord, and I will take note, not of the word of those who are full of pride, but of the power.

20For the kingdom of God is not in word but in power.

21What is your desire? is my coming to be with punishment, or is it to be in love and a gentle spirit?

Leave a Reply

