August 30

2 Chronicles 2:17-18

17Then Solomon took the number of all the men from strange lands who were living in Israel, as his father David had done; there were a hundred and fifty-three thousand, six hundred.

18Seventy thousand he put to the work of transport, eighty thousand to cutting stone in the mountains, and three thousand, six hundred as overseers to put the people to work.

2 Chronicles 3

1Then Solomon made a start at building the house of the Lord on Mount Moriah in Jerusalem, where the Lord had been seen by his father David, in the place which David had made ready in the grain-floor of Ornan the Jebusite.

2The building was started in the second month in the fourth year of his rule.

3And Solomon put the base of the house of God in position; by the older measure it was sixty cubits long and twenty cubits wide.

4And the covered way in front of the house was twenty cubits long, as wide as the house, and a hundred and twenty cubits high, all plated inside with the best gold.

5And the greater house was roofed with cypress-wood, plated with the best gold and ornamented with designs of palm-trees and chains.

6And the house was made beautiful with stones of great value, and the gold was gold of Parvaim.

7All the house was plated with gold, the supports, the steps, the walls and the doors; and the walls were ornamented with designs of winged ones.

8And he made the most holy place; it was twenty cubits long, and twenty cubits wide, like the greater house, and was plated all over with the best gold; six hundred talents were used for it.

9And fifty shekels weight of gold was used for the nails. He had all the higher rooms plated with gold.

10And in the most holy place he made images of two winged beings, covering them with gold.

11Their outstretched wings were twenty cubits across; one wing, five cubits long, touching the wall of the house, and the other, of the same size, meeting the wing of the other winged one.

12And in the same way, the wings of the other, five cubits long, were stretched out, one touching the wall and the other meeting the wing of the first winged one.

13Their outstretched wings were twenty cubits across; they were placed upright on their feet, facing the inner part of the house.

14And he made the veil of blue and purple and red, of the best linen, worked with winged ones.

15And in front of the house he made two pillars, thirty-five cubits high, with crowns on the tops of them, five cubits high.

16And he made chains, like neck ornaments, and put them on the tops of the pillars, and a hundred apples on the chains.

17He put up the pillars in front of the Temple, one on the right side and one on the left, naming the one on the right Jachin and that on the left Boaz.

2 Chronicles 4

1Then he made a brass altar, twenty cubits long, twenty cubits wide and ten cubits high.

2And he made the great water-vessel of metal, round in form, measuring ten cubits across from edge to edge; it was five cubits high and thirty cubits round.

3And under it was a design of flowers all round it, ten to a cubit, circling the water-vessel in two lines; they were made from liquid metal at the same time as the water-vessel.

4It was supported on twelve oxen, three facing to the north, three to the west, three to the south, and three to the east, the water-vessel resting on top of them; their back parts were all turned to the middle of it.

5It was as thick as a man’s open hand, and the edge of it was curved like the edge of a cup, like a lily flower; it would take three thousand baths.

6And he made ten washing-vessels, putting five on the right side and five on the left; such things as were used in making the burned offering were washed in them; but the great water-vessel was to be used by the priests for washing themselves.

7And he made the ten gold supports for the lights, as directions had been given for them, and he put them in the Temple, five on the right side and five on the left.

8He made ten tables, and put them in the Temple, five on the right side and five on the left. And he made a hundred gold basins.

9Then he made the open space for the priests, and the great open space and its doors, plating the doors with brass.

10He put the great water-vessel on the right side of the house to the east, facing south.

11And Huram made all the pots and the spades and the basins. So he came to the end of all the work he did for King Solomon in the house of God:

12The two pillars, and the two crowns on the tops of the pillars, and the network covering the two cups of the crowns on the tops of the pillars;

13And the four hundred apples for the network, two lines of apples for the network covering the two cups of the crowns on the pillars.

14And he made the ten bases and the ten washing-vessels which were on the bases;

15The great water-vessel with the twelve oxen under it.

16All the pots and the spades and the meat-hooks and their vessels, which Huram, who was as his father, made for King Solomon for the house of the Lord, were of polished brass.

17The king made them of liquid metal in the lowland of Jordan, in the soft earth between Succoth and Zeredah.

18So Solomon made all these vessels, a very great store of them, and the weight of the brass used was not measured.

19And Solomon made all the vessels used in the house of God, the gold altar and the tables on which the holy bread was placed,

20And the supports for the lights with their lights, to be burning in the regular way in front of the inmost room, of the best gold;

21The flowers and the vessels for the lights and the instruments used for them, were all of gold; it was the best gold.

22The scissors and the basins and the spoons and the fire-trays, of the best gold; and the inner doors of the house, opening into the most holy place, and the doors of the Temple, were all of gold.

2 Chronicles 5:1

1So all the work which Solomon did for the house of the Lord was complete. And Solomon took the holy things which David his father had given, the silver and the gold and all the vessels, and put them in the store-houses of the house of God.

Malachi 1

1The word of the Lord to Israel by Malachi.

2You have been loved by me, says the Lord. But you say, Where was your love for us? Was not Esau Jacob’s brother? says the Lord: but Jacob was loved by me,

3And Esau was hated, and I sent destruction on his mountains, and gave his heritage to the beasts of the waste land.

4Though Edom says, We are crushed down but we will come back, building up the waste places; this is what the Lord of armies has said: They may put up buildings, but I will have them pulled down; and they will be named The land of evil-doing, and The people against whom the Lord keeps his wrath for ever.

5And your eyes will see it; and you will say, The Lord is great even outside the limits of Israel.

6A son gives honour to his father, and a servant has fear of his master: if then I am a father, where is my honour? and if I am a master, where is the fear of me? says the Lord of armies to you, O priests, who give no value to my name. And you say, How have we not given value to your name?

7You put unclean bread on my altar. And you say, How have we made it unclean? By your saying, The table of the Lord is of no value.

8And when you give what is blind for an offering, it is no evil! and when you give what is damaged and ill, it is no evil! Give it now to your ruler; will he be pleased with you, or will you have his approval? says the Lord of armies.

9And now, make request for the grace of God so that he may have mercy on us: this has been your doing: will he give his approval to any of you? says the Lord of armies.

10If only there was one among you who would see that the doors were shut, so that you might not put a light to the fire on my altar for nothing! I have no pleasure in you, says the Lord of armies, and I will not take an offering from your hands.

11For, from the coming up of the sun till its going down, my name is great among the Gentiles; and in every place the smell of burning flesh is offered to my name, and a clean offering: for my name is great among the Gentiles, says the Lord of armies.

12But you make it unholy by saying, The Lord’s table has become unclean, and his food is of no value.

13And you say, See, what a weariness it is! and you let out your breath at it, says the Lord of armies; and you have given what has been cut about by beasts, and what is damaged in its feet and ill; this is the offering you give: will this be pleasing to me from your hands? says the Lord.

14A curse on the false man who has a male in his flock, and takes his oath, and gives to the Lord a damaged thing: for I am a great King, says the Lord of armies, and my name is to be feared among the Gentiles.

Malachi 2:1-9

1And now, O you priests, this order is for you.

2If you will not give ear and take it to heart, to give glory to my name, says the Lord of armies, then I will send the curse on you and will put a curse on your blessing: truly, even now I have put a curse on it, because you do not take it to heart.

3See, I will have your arm cut off, and will put waste on your faces, even the waste from your feasts; and you will be taken away with it.

4And you will be certain that I have sent this order to you, so that it might be my agreement with Levi, says the Lord of armies.

5My agreement with him was on my side life and peace, and I gave them to him; on his side fear, and he had fear of me and gave honour to my name.

6True teaching was in his mouth, and no evil was seen on his lips: he was walking with me in peace and righteousness, turning numbers of people away from evil-doing.

7For it is right for the priest’s lips to keep knowledge, and for men to be waiting for the law from his mouth: for he is the servant sent from the Lord of armies.

8But you are turned out of the way; you have made the law hard for numbers of people; you have made the agreement of Levi of no value, says the Lord of armies.

9And so I have taken away your honour and made you low before all the people, even as you have not kept my ways, and have given no thought to me in using the law.

John 8:21-47

21Then he said to them again, I am going away and you will be looking for me, but death will overtake you in your sins. It is not possible for you to come where I am going.

22So the Jews said, Will he take his life? Is that why he says, Where I go it is not possible for you to come?

23And he said to them, You are of the earth; I am from heaven: you are of this world; I am not of this world.

24For this reason I said to you that death will overtake you in your sins: for if you have not faith that I am he, death will come to you while you are in your sins.

25Then they said to him, Who are you? Jesus said, What I said to you from the first.

26I have much to say about you and against you: but he who sent me is true and what he has said to me I say to the world.

27They did not see that his words were about the Father.

28So Jesus said, When the Son of man has been lifted up by you, then it will be clear to you who I am, and that I do nothing of myself, but say as the Father gave me teaching.

29He who sent me is with me; he has not gone from me, because at all times I do the things which are pleasing to him.

30When he said this a number came to have faith in him.

31Then Jesus said to the Jews who had faith in him, If you keep my word, then you are truly my disciples;

32And you will have knowledge of what is true, and that will make you free.

33They said to him in answer, We are Abraham’s seed and have never been any man’s servant: why do you say, You will become free?

34And this was the answer Jesus gave them: Truly I say to you, Everyone who does evil is the servant of sin.

35Now the servant does not go on living in the house for ever, but the son does.

36If then the son makes you free, you will be truly free.

37I am conscious that you are Abraham’s seed; but you have a desire to put me to death because my word has no place in you.

38I say the things which I have seen in my Father’s house: and you do the things which come to you from your father’s house.

39In answer they said to him, Our father is Abraham. Jesus said to them, If you were Abraham’s children you would do what Abraham did.

40But now you have a desire to put me to death, a man who has said to you what is true, as I had it from God: Abraham did not do that.

41You are doing the works of your father. They said to him, We are true sons of Abraham; we have one Father, who is God.

42Jesus said to them, If God was your Father you would have love for me, because it was from God I came and am here. I did not come of myself, but he sent me.

43Why are my words not clear to you? It is because your ears are shut to my teaching.

44You are the children of your father the Evil One and it is your pleasure to do his desires. From the first he was a taker of life; and he did not go in the true way because there is no true thing in him. When he says what is false, it is natural to him, for he is false and the father of what is false.

45But because I say what is true, you have no belief in me.

46Which of you is able truly to say that I am a sinner? If I say what is true, why have you no belief in me?

47He who is a child of God gives ear to the words of God: your ears are not open to them because you are not from God.

Leave a Reply

