September 3

2 Chronicles 8

1Now at the end of twenty years, in which time Solomon had put up the house of the Lord and a house for himself,

2He took in hand the building up of the towns which Huram had given him, causing the children of Israel to make living-places for themselves there.

3And Solomon went to Hamath-zobah and overcame it.

4And he put up the buildings of Tadmor in the waste land, and of all the store-towns in Hamath;

5And of Beth-horon the higher and the lower, walled towns with walls and doorways and locks;

6And of Baalath, and all the store-towns which Solomon had, and the towns where he kept his war-carriages and his horse men, and everything which it was his pleasure to put up in Jerusalem and in Lebanon and in all the land under his rule.

7As for all the rest of the Hittites and the Amorites and the Perizzites and the Hivites and the Jebusites, who were not of Israel:

8Their men who were still living in the land, and whom the children of Israel had not put an end to, these Solomon put to forced work, as is done to this day;

9But Solomon did not make use of the children of Israel as servants for his work; they were men of war, his chiefs and his captains, and captains of his war-carriages and his horsemen.

10Now these were the chief men in authority whom King Solomon had: two hundred and fifty of them, in authority over the people.

11Then Solomon made Pharaoh’s daughter come up from the town of David to the house which he had made for her; for he said, I will not have my wife living in the house of David, king of Israel, because those places where the ark of the Lord has come are holy.

12Then Solomon made burned offerings to the Lord on the altar of the Lord which he had put up in front of the covered way,

13Offering every day what had been ordered by Moses, on the Sabbaths and at the new moon and at the regular feasts three times a year, that is at the feast of unleavened bread, the feast of weeks, and the feast of tents.

14And he gave the divisions of the priests their places for their work, as ordered by his father David, and to the Levites he gave their work of praise and waiting on the priests, to do what was needed day by day; and he gave the door-keepers their places in turn at every door; for so David, the man of God, had given orders.

15All the orders given by the king to the priests and Levites, in connection with any business or stores, were done with care.

16And all the work of Solomon was complete, from the day when he put the base of the Lord’s house in position, till Solomon had come to the end of building the Lord’s house.

17Then Solomon went to Ezion-geber and to Eloth by the sea in the land of Edom.

18And Huram sent him, by his servants, ships and experienced seamen, who went with the servants of Solomon to Ophir and came back with four hundred and fifty talents of gold, which they took to King Solomon.

Psalms 73

1Truly, God is good to Israel, even to such as are clean in heart.

2But as for me, my feet had almost gone from under me; I was near to slipping;

3Because of my envy of the men of pride, when I saw the well-being of the wrongdoers.

4For they have no pain; their bodies are fat and strong.

5They are not in trouble as others are; they have no part in the unhappy fate of men.

6For this reason pride is round them like a chain; they are clothed with violent behaviour as with a robe.

7Their eyes are bursting with fat; they have more than their heart’s desire.

8Their thoughts are deep with evil designs; their talk from their seats of power is of cruel acts.

9Their mouth goes up to heaven; their tongues go walking through the earth.

10For this reason they are full of bread; and water is ever flowing for them.

11And they say, How will the Lord see this? is there knowledge in the Most High?

12Truly, such are the sinners; they do well at all times, and their wealth is increased.

13As for me, I have made my heart clean to no purpose, washing my hands in righteousness;

14For I have been troubled all the day; every morning have I undergone punishment.

15If I would make clear what it is like, I would say, You are false to the generation of your children.

16When my thoughts were turned to see the reason of this, it was a weariness in my eyes;

17Till I went into God’s holy place, and saw the end of the evil-doers.

18You put their feet where there was danger of slipping, so that they go down into destruction.

19How suddenly are they wasted! fears are the cause of their destruction.

20As a dream when one is awake, they are ended; they are like an image gone out of mind when sleep is over.

21My heart was made bitter, and I was pained by the bite of grief:

22As for me, I was foolish, and without knowledge; I was like a beast before you.

23But still I am ever with you; you have taken me by my right hand.

24Your wisdom will be my guide, and later you will put me in a place of honour.

25Whom have I in heaven but you? and having you I have no desire for anything on earth.

26My flesh and my heart are wasting away: but God is the Rock of my heart and my eternal heritage.

27For those who are far away from you will come to destruction: you will put an end to all those who have not kept faith with you.

28But it is good for me to come near to God: I have put my faith in the Lord God, so that I may make clear all his works.

John 10:1-21

1Truly I say to you, He who does not go through the door into the place where the sheep are kept, but gets in by some other way, is a thief and an outlaw.

2He who goes in by the door is the keeper of the sheep.

3The porter lets him in; and the sheep give ear to his voice; he says over the names of the sheep, and takes them out.

4When he has got them all out, he goes before them, and the sheep go after him, for they have knowledge of his voice.

5They will not go after another who is not their keeper, but will go from him in flight, because his voice is strange to them.

6In this Jesus was teaching them in the form of a story: but what he said was not clear to them.

7So Jesus said again, Truly I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.

8All who came before me are thieves and outlaws: but the sheep did not give ear to them.

9I am the door: if any man goes in through me he will have salvation, and will go in and go out, and will get food.

10The thief comes only to take the sheep and to put them to death: he comes for their destruction: I have come so that they may have life and have it in greater measure.

11I am the good keeper of sheep: the good keeper gives his life for the sheep.

12He who is a servant, and not the keeper or the owner of the sheep, sees the wolf coming and goes in flight, away from the sheep; and the wolf comes down on them and sends them in all directions:

13Because he is a servant he has no interest in the sheep.

14I am the good keeper; I have knowledge of my sheep, and they have knowledge of me,

15Even as the Father has knowledge of me and I of the Father; and I am giving my life for the sheep.

16And I have other sheep which are not of this field: I will be their guide in the same way, and they will give ear to my voice, so there will be one flock and one keeper.

17For this reason am I loved by the Father, because I give up my life so that I may take it again.

18No one takes it away from me; I give it up of myself. I have power to give it up, and I have power to take it again. These orders I have from my Father.

19There was a division again among the Jews because of these words.

20And a number of them said, He has an evil spirit and is out of his mind; why do you give ear to him?

21Others said, These are not the words of one who has an evil spirit. Is it possible for an evil spirit to make blind people see?

Leave a Reply

