November 2

Psalms 119:121-144

AIN

121 I have done what is good and right: you will not give me into the hands of those who are working against me.

122Take your servant’s interests into your keeping; let me not be crushed by the men of pride.

123My eyes are wasted with desire for your salvation, and for the word of your righteousness.

124Be good to your servant in your mercy, and give me teaching in your rules.

125I am your servant; give me wisdom, so that I may have knowledge of your unchanging word.

126It is time, O Lord, for you to let your work be seen; for they have made your law without effect.

127For this reason I have greater love far your teachings than for gold, even for shining gold.

128Because of it I keep straight in all things by your orders; and I am a hater of every false way.

PE

129 Your unchanging word is full of wonder; for this reason my soul keeps it.

130The opening of your words gives light; it gives good sense to the simple.

131My mouth was open wide, waiting with great desire for your teachings.

132Let your eyes be turned to me, and have mercy on me, as it is right for you to do to those who are lovers of your name.

133Let my steps be guided by your word; and let not sin have control over me.

134Make me free from the cruel rule of man; then I will keep your orders.

135Let your servant see the shining of your face; give me knowledge of your rules.

136Rivers of water are flowing from my eyes, because men do not keep your law.

TZADE

137 O Lord, great is your righteousness, and upright are your decisions.

138You have given your unchanging word in righteousness, and it is for ever.

139My passion has overcome me; because my haters are turned away from your words.

140Your word is of tested value; and it is dear to your servant.

141I am small and of no account; but I keep your orders in mind.

142Your righteousness is an unchanging righteousness, and your law is certain.

143Pain and trouble have overcome me: but your teachings are my delight.

144The righteousness of your unchanging word is eternal; give me wisdom so that I may have life.

Isaiah 38

1In those days Hezekiah was ill and near death. And Isaiah the prophet, the son of Amoz, came to him, and said to him, The Lord says, Put your house in order; for your death is near.

2And Hezekiah, turning his face to the wall, made his prayer to the Lord, saying,

3O Lord, keep in mind how I have been true to you with all my heart, and have done what is good in your eyes. And Hezekiah gave way to bitter weeping.

4Then the word of the Lord came to Isaiah, saying,

5Go to Hezekiah, and say, The Lord, the God of David, your father, says, Your prayer has come to my ears, and I have seen your weeping: see, I will give you fifteen more years of life.

6And I will keep you and this town safe from the hands of the king of Assyria: and I will keep watch over this town.

7And Isaiah said, This is the sign the Lord will give you, that he will do what he has said:

8See, I will make the shade which has gone down on the steps of Ahaz with the sun, go back ten steps. So the shade went back the ten steps by which it had gone down.

9The writing of Hezekiah, king of Judah, after he had been ill, and had got better from his disease.

10I said, In the quiet of my days I am going down into the underworld: the rest of my years are being taken away from me.

11I said, I will not see the Lord, even the Lord in the land of the living: I will not see man again or those living in the world.

12My resting-place is pulled up and taken away from me like a herdsman’s tent: my life is rolled up like a linen-worker’s thread; I am cut off from the cloth on the frame: from day even to night you give me up to pain.

13I am crying out with pain till the morning; it is as if a lion was crushing all my bones.

14I make cries like a bird; I give out sounds of grief like a dove: my eyes are looking up with desire; O Lord, I am crushed, take up my cause.

15What am I to say? seeing that it is he who has done it: all my time of sleeping I am turning from side to side without rest.

16O Lord, for this cause I am waiting for you, give rest to my spirit: make me well again, and let me come back to life.

17See, in place of peace my soul had bitter sorrow. but you have kept back my soul from the underworld; for you have put all my sins out of your memory.

18For the underworld is not able to give you praise, death gives you no honour: for those who go down into the underworld there is no hope in your mercy.

19The living, the living man, he will give you praise, as I do this day: the father will give the story of your mercy to his children.

20O Lord, quickly be my saviour; so we will make my songs to corded instruments all the days of our lives in the house of the Lord.

21And Isaiah said, Let them take a cake of figs, and put it on the diseased place, and he will get well.

22And Hezekiah said, What is the sign that I will go up to the house of the Lord?

Isaiah 39

1At that time Merodach-baladan, the son of Baladan, king of Babylon, sent letters with an offering to Hezekiah, because he had news that Hezekiah had been ill, and was well again.

2And Hezekiah was glad at their coming, and let them see all his store of wealth, the silver and the gold and the spices and the oil, and all the house of his arms, and everything there was in his stores: there was nothing in all his house or his kingdom which he did not let them see.

3Then Isaiah the prophet came to King Hezekiah, and said to him, What did these men say, and where did they come from? And Hezekiah said, They came from a far country, even from Babylon.

4And he said, What have they seen in your house? And Hezekiah said in answer, They saw everything in my house: there is nothing among my stores which I did not let them see.

5Then said Isaiah to Hezekiah, Give ear to the word of the Lord of armies:

6Truly, the days are coming when everything in your house, and whatever your fathers have put in store till this day, will be taken away to Babylon: all will be gone.

7And your sons, even your offspring, will they take away to be unsexed servants in the house of the king of Babylon.

8Then said Hezekiah to Isaiah, Good is the word of the Lord which you have said. And he said in his heart, There will be peace and quiet in my days.

1 Timothy 4

1But the Spirit says clearly that in later times some will be turned away from the faith, giving their minds to spirits of deceit, and the teachings of evil spirits,

2Through the false ways of men whose words are untrue, whose hearts are burned as with a heated iron;

3Who keep men from being married and from taking food which God made to be taken with praise by those who have faith and true knowledge.

4Because everything which God has made is good, and nothing is evil, if it is taken with praise:

5For it is made holy by the word of God and by prayer.

6If you keep these things before the minds of the brothers, you will be a good servant of Christ Jesus, trained in the words of the faith and of the right teaching which has been your guide:

7But have nothing to do with unclean and foolish stories. Give yourself training in religion:

8For the training of the body is of profit for a little, but religion is of profit in every way, giving hope for the life which now is, and for that which is to come.

9This is a true saying, in which all may put their faith.

10And this is the purpose of all our work and our fighting, because our hope is in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, and specially of those who have faith.

11Let these be your orders and your teaching.

12Let no one make little of you because you are young, but be an example to the church in word, in behaviour, in love, in faith, in holy living.

13Till I come, give attention to the reading of the holy Writings, to comforting the saints, and to teaching.

14Make use of that grace in you, which was given to you by the word of the prophets, when the rulers of the church put their hands on you.

15Have a care for these things; give yourself to them with all your heart, so that all may see how you go forward.

16Give attention to yourself and your teaching. Go on in these things; for in doing so you will get salvation for yourself and for those who give hearing to you.

Leave a Reply

