November 6

Psalms 122

A Song of the going up. Of David.

1 I was glad because they said to me, We will go into the house of the Lord.

2At last our feet were inside your doors, O Jerusalem.

3O Jerusalem, you are like a town which is well joined together;

4To which the tribes went up, even the tribes of the Lord, for a witness to Israel, to give praise to the name of the Lord.

5For there seats for the judges were placed, even the rulers’ seats of the line of David.

6O make prayers for the peace of Jerusalem; may they whose love is given to you do well.

7May peace be inside your walls, and wealth in your noble houses.

8Because of my brothers and friends, I will now say, Let peace be with you.

9Because of the house of the Lord our God, I will be working for your good.

Jeremiah 7

1The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying,

2Take your place in the doorway of the Lord’s house, and give out this word there, and say, Give ear to the word of the Lord, all you of Judah who come inside these doors to give worship to the Lord.

3The Lord of armies, the God of Israel, says, Let your ways and your doings be changed for the better and I will let you go on living in this place.

4Put no faith in false words, saying, The Temple of the Lord, the Temple of the Lord, the Temple of the Lord, are these.

5For if your ways and your doings are truly changed for the better; if you truly give right decisions between a man and his neighbour;

6If you are not cruel to the man from a strange country, and to the child without a father, and to the widow, and do not put the upright to death in this place, or go after other gods, causing damage to yourselves:

7Then I will let you go on living in this place, in the land which I gave to your fathers in the past and for ever.

8See, you put your faith in false words which are of no profit.

9Will you take the goods of others, put men to death, and be untrue to your wives, and take false oaths, and have perfumes burned to the Baal, and go after other gods which are strange to you;

10And come and take your place before me in this house, which is named by my name, and say, We have been made safe; so that you may do all these disgusting things?

11Has this house, which is named by my name, become a hole of thieves to you? Truly I, even I, have seen it, says the Lord.

12But go now to my place which was in Shiloh, where I put my name at first, and see what I did to it because of the evil-doing of my people Israel.

13And now, because you have done all these works, says the Lord, and I sent my word to you, getting up early and sending, but you did not give ear; and my voice came to you, but you gave no answer:

14For this reason I will do to the house which is named by my name, and in which you have put your faith, and to the place which I gave to you and to your fathers, as I have done to Shiloh.

15And I will send you away from before my face, as I have sent away all your brothers, even all the seed of Ephraim.

16And as for you (Jeremiah), make no prayers for this people, send up no cry or prayer for them, make no request for them to me: for I will not give ear.

17Do you not see what they are doing in the towns of Judah and in the streets of Jerusalem?

18The children go for wood, the fathers get the fire burning, the women are working the paste to make cakes for the queen of heaven, and drink offerings are drained out to other gods, moving me to wrath.

19Are they moving me to wrath? says the Lord; are they not moving themselves to their shame?

20So this is what the Lord God has said: See, my wrath and my passion will be let loose on this place, on man and beast, and on the trees of the field, and on the produce of the earth; it will be burning and will not be put out.

21These are the words of the Lord of armies, the God of Israel: Put your burned offerings with your offerings of beasts, and take flesh for your food.

22For I said nothing to your fathers, and gave them no orders, on the day when I took them out of Egypt, about burned offerings or offerings of beasts:

23But this was the order I gave them, saying, Give ear to my voice, and I will be your God, and you will be my people: go in all the way ordered by me, so that all may be well for you.

24But they took no note and did not give ear, but were guided by the thoughts and the pride of their evil hearts, going back and not forward.

25From the day when your fathers came out of Egypt till this day, I have sent my servants the prophets to you, getting up early every day and sending them:

26But still they took no note and would not give ear, but they made their necks stiff, doing worse than their fathers.

27And you are to say all these words to them, but they will not give ear to you: you will send out your voice to them, but they will give no answer.

28And you are to say to them, This is the nation which has not given ear to the voice of their God, or taken his teaching to heart: good faith is dead and is cut off from their mouths.

29Let your hair be cut off, O Jerusalem, and let it go, and let a song of grief go up on the open hilltops; for the Lord is turned away from the generation of his wrath and has given them up.

30For the children of Judah have done what is evil in my eyes, says the Lord: they have put their disgusting images in the house which is named by my name, making it unclean.

31And they have put up the high place of Topheth in the valley of the son of Hinnom, burning their sons and their daughters there in the fire; a thing which was not ordered by me and never came into my mind.

32For this cause, the days are coming, says the Lord, when it will no longer be named Topheth, or, The valley of the son of Hinnom, but, The valley of Death: for they will put the dead into the earth in Topheth till there is no more room.

33And the bodies of this people will be food for the birds of heaven and for the beasts of the earth; and there will be no one to send them away.

34And in the towns of Judah and in the streets of Jerusalem, I will put an end to the laughing voices, the voice of joy and the voice of the newly-married man and the voice of the bride: for the land will become a waste.

Jeremiah 8

1At that time, says the Lord, they will take the bones of the kings of Judah, and the bones of his rulers, and the bones of the priests, and the bones of the prophets, and the bones of the people of Jerusalem out of their resting-places:

2And they will put them out before the sun and the moon and all the stars of heaven, whose lovers and servants they have been, after whom they have gone, to whom they have made prayers, and to whom they have given worship: they will not be put together or placed in the earth; they will be waste on the face of the earth.

3And death will be desired more than life by the rest of this evil family who are still living in all the places where I have sent them away, says the Lord of armies.

4Further, you are to say to them, This is what the Lord has said: Will those who are falling not be lifted up again? will he who has gone away not come back?

5Why do these people of Jerusalem go back, for ever turning away? they will not give up their deceit, they will not come back.

6I took note and gave ear, but no one said what is right: no man had regret for his evil-doing, saying, What have I done? everyone goes off on his way like a horse rushing to the fight.

7Truly, the stork in the heavens is conscious of her fixed times; the dove and the swallow and the crane keep to the times of their coming; but my people have no knowledge of the law of the Lord.

8How is it that you say, We are wise and the law of the Lord is with us? But see, the false pen of the scribes has made it false.

9The wise men are shamed, they are overcome with fear and taken: see, they have given up the word of the Lord; and what use is their wisdom to them?

10So I will give their wives to others, and their fields to those who will take them for themselves: for everyone, from the least to the greatest, is given up to getting money; from the priest even to the prophet, everyone is false.

11And they have made little of the wounds of the daughter of Zion, saying, Peace, peace; when there is no peace.

12Let them be put to shame because they have done disgusting things. They had no shame, they were not able to become red with shame: so they will come down with those who are falling: in the time of their punishment they will be made low, says the Lord.

13I will put an end to them completely, says the Lord: there are no grapes on the vine and no figs on the fig-tree, and the leaf is dry.

14Why are we seated doing nothing? come together, and let us go to the walled towns, and let destruction overtake us there, for the Lord our God has sent destruction on us, and given us bitter water for our drink, because we have done evil against the Lord.

15We were looking for peace, but no good came; and for a time of well-being, but there is only a great fear.

16The loud breathing of the horses comes to our ears from Dan: at the sound of the outcry of his war-horses, all the land is shaking with fear; for they have come, and have made a meal of the land and everything in it; the town and the people living in it.

17See, I will send snakes and poison-snakes among you, against which the wonder-worker has no power; and they will give you wounds which may not be made well, says the Lord.

18Sorrow has come on me! my heart in me is feeble.

19The voice of the cry of the daughter of my people comes from a far land: Is the Lord not in Zion? is not her King in her? Why have they made me angry with their images and their strange gods which are no gods?

20The grain-cutting is past, the summer is ended, and no salvation has come to us.

21For the destruction of the daughter of my people I am broken: I am dressed in the clothing of grief; fear has taken me in its grip.

22Is there no life-giving oil in Gilead? is there no expert in medical arts? why then have my people not been made well?

2 Timothy 2

1So then, my child, be strong in the grace which is in Christ Jesus.

2And the things which I have said to you before a number of witnesses, give to those of the faith, so that they may be teachers of others.

3Be ready to do without the comforts of life, as one of the army of Christ Jesus.

4A fighting man, when he is with the army, keeps himself free from the business of this life so that he may be pleasing to him who has taken him into his army.

5And if a man takes part in a competition he does not get the crown if he has not kept the rules.

6It is right for the worker in the fields to be the first to take of the fruit.

7Give thought to what I say; for the Lord will give you wisdom in all things.

8Keep in mind Jesus Christ, of the seed of David, who came back from the dead, as my good news gives witness:

9In which I put up with the hardest conditions, even prison chains, like one who has done a crime; but the word of God is not in chains.

10But I undergo all things for the saints, so that they may have salvation in Christ Jesus with eternal glory.

11This is a true saying: If we undergo death with him, then will we be living with him:

12If we go on to the end, then we will be ruling with him: if we say we have no knowledge of him, then he will say he has no knowledge of us:

13If we are without faith, still he keeps faith, for he will never be untrue to himself.

14Put these things before them, giving them orders in the name of the Lord to keep themselves from fighting about words, which is of no profit, only causing error in their hearers.

15Let it be your care to get the approval of God, as a workman who has no cause for shame, giving the true word in the right way.

16But take no part in wrong and foolish talk, for those who do so will go farther into evil,

17And their words will be like poisoned wounds in the flesh: such are Hymenaeus and Philetus;

18Men whose ideas are all false, who say that the coming back from the dead has even now taken place, overturning the faith of some.

19But God’s strong base is unchanging, having this sign, The Lord has knowledge of those who are his: and, Let everyone by whom the name of the Lord is named be turned away from evil.

20Now in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and silver, but others of wood and earth, and some which are honoured and some without honour.

21If a man makes himself clean from these, he will be a vessel for honour, made holy, ready for the master’s use, ready for every good work.

22But keep yourself from those desires of the flesh which are strong when the body is young, and go after righteousness, faith, love, peace, with those whose prayers go up to the Lord from a clean heart.

23And put away foolish and uncontrolled questionings, seeing that they are a cause of trouble.

24For it is not right for the Lord’s servant to make trouble, but he is to be gentle to all, ready in teaching, putting up with wrong,

25Gently guiding those who go against the teaching; if by chance God may give them a change of heart and true knowledge,

26And so they may get themselves free from the net of the Evil One, being made the prisoners of the Lord’s servant, for the purpose of God.

One comment

  1. Pingback: For God Alone My Soul Waits In Silence 012612 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

