December 3

Psalms 149

1Let the Lord be praised. Make a new song to the Lord, let his praise be in the meeting of his saints.

2Let Israel have joy in his maker; let the children of Zion be glad in their King.

3Let them give praise to his name in the dance: let them make melody to him with instruments of brass and corded instruments of music.

4For the Lord has pleasure in his people: he gives the poor in spirit a crown of salvation.

5Let the saints have joy and glory: let them give cries of joy on their beds.

6Let the high praises of God be in their mouths, and a two-edged sword in their hands;

7To give the nations the reward of their sins, and the peoples their punishment;

8To put their kings in chains, and their rulers in bands of iron;

9To give them the punishment which is in the holy writings: this honour is given to all his saints. Praise be to the Lord.

Ezekiel 2

1And he said to me, Son of man, get up on your feet, so that I may say words to you.

2And at his words the spirit came into me and put me on my feet; and his voice came to my ears.

3And he said to me, Son of man, I am sending you to the children of Israel, to an uncontrolled nation which has gone against me: they and their fathers have been sinners against me even to this very day.

4And the children are hard and stiff-hearted; I am sending you to them: and you are to say to them, These are the words of the Lord.

5And they, if they give ear to you or if they do not give ear (for they are an uncontrolled people), will see that there has been a prophet among them.

6And you, son of man, have no fear of them or of their words, even if sharp thorns are round you and you are living among scorpions: have no fear of their words and do not be overcome by their looks, for they are an uncontrolled people.

7And you are to give them my words, if they give ear to you or if they do not: for they are uncontrolled.

8But you, son of man, give ear to what I say to you, and do not be uncontrolled like that uncontrolled people: let your mouth be open and take what I give you.

9And looking, I saw a hand stretched out to me, and I saw the roll of a book in it;

10And he put it open before me, and it had writing on the front and on the back; words of grief and sorrow and trouble were recorded in it.

Ezekiel 3

1And he said to me, Son of man, take this roll for your food, and go and say my words to the children of Israel.

2And, on my opening my mouth, he made me take the roll as food.

3And he said to me, Son of man, let your stomach make a meal of it and let your inside be full of this roll which I am giving you. Then I took it, and it was sweet as honey in my mouth.

4And he said to me, Son of man, go now to the children of Israel, and say my words to them.

5For you are not sent to a people whose talk is strange and whose language is hard, but to the children of Israel;

6Not to a number of peoples whose talk is strange and whose language is hard and whose words are not clear to you. Truly, if I sent you to them they would give ear to you.

7But the children of Israel will not give ear to you; for they have no mind to give ear to me: for all the children of Israel have a hard brow and a stiff heart.

8See, I have made your face hard against their faces, and your brow hard against their brows.

9Like a diamond harder than rock I have made your brow: have no fear of them and do not be overcome by their looks, for they are an uncontrolled people.

10Then he said to me, Son of man, take into your heart all my words which I am about to say to you, and let your ears be open to them.

11And go now to those who have been taken away as prisoners, to the children of your people, and say to them, This is what the Lord has said; if they give ear or if they do not.

12Then I was lifted up by the wind, and at my back the sound of a great rushing came to my ears when the glory of the Lord was lifted up from his place.

13And there was the sound of the wings of the living beings touching one another, and the sound of the wheels at their side, the sound of a great rushing.

14And the wind, lifting me up, took me away: and I went in the heat of my spirit, and the hand of the Lord was strong on me.

15Then I came to those who had been taken away as prisoners, who were at Telabib by the river Chebar, and I was seated among them full of wonder for seven days.

16And at the end of seven days, the word of the Lord came to me, saying,

17Son of man, I have made you a watchman for the children of Israel: so give ear to the word of my mouth, and give them word from me of their danger.

18When I say to the evil-doer, Death will certainly be your fate; and you give him no word of it and say nothing to make clear to the evil-doer the danger of his evil way, so that he may be safe; that same evil man will come to death in his evil-doing; but I will make you responsible for his blood.

19But if you give the evil-doer word of his danger, and he is not turned from his sin or from his evil way, death will overtake him in his evil-doing; but your life will be safe.

20Again, when an upright man, turning away from his righteousness, does evil, and I put a cause of falling in his way, death will overtake him: because you have given him no word of his danger, death will overtake him in his evil-doing, and there will be no memory of the upright acts which he has done; but I will make you responsible for his blood.

21But if you say to the upright man that he is not to do evil, he will certainly keep his life because he took note of your word; and your life will be safe.

22And the hand of the Lord was on me there; and he said, Get up and go out into the valley and there I will have talk with you.

23Then I got up and went out into the valley; and I saw the glory of the Lord resting there as I had seen it by the river Chebar; and I went down on my face.

24Then the spirit came into me and put me on my feet; and he had talk with me and said to me, Go and keep yourself shut up inside your house.

25But see, O son of man, I will put bands on you, prisoning you in them, and you will not go out among them:

26And I will make your tongue fixed to the roof of your mouth, so that you have no voice and may not make protests to them: for they are an uncontrolled people.

27But when I have talk with you I will make your mouth open, and you are to say to them, This is what the Lord has said: Let the hearer give ear; and as for him who will not, let him keep his ears shut: for they are an uncontrolled people.

Galatians 6

1Brothers, if a man is taken in any wrongdoing, you who are of the Spirit will put such a one right in a spirit of love; keeping watch on yourself, for fear that you yourself may be tested.

2Take on yourselves one another’s troubles, and so keep the law of Christ.

3For if a man has an idea that he is something when he is nothing, he is tricked by himself.

4But let every man make test of his work, and then will his cause for glory be in himself only, and not in his neighbour.

5Because every man is responsible for his part of the work.

6But let him who gets teaching in the word give a part in all good things to his teacher.

7Be not tricked; God is not made sport of: for whatever seed a man puts in, that will he get back as grain.

8Because he who puts in the seed of the flesh will of the flesh get the reward of death; but he who puts in the seed of the Spirit will of the Spirit get the reward of eternal life.

9And let us not get tired of well-doing; for at the right time we will get in the grain, if we do not give way to weariness.

10So then, as we have the chance, let us do good to all men, and specially to those who are of the family of the faith.

11See the size of the handwriting which I myself have made use of in writing to you.

12Those who have the desire to seem important in the flesh, put force on you to undergo circumcision; only that they may not be attacked because of the cross of Christ.

13Because even those who undergo circumcision do not themselves keep the law; but they would have you undergo circumcision, so that they may have glory in your flesh.

14But far be it from me to have glory in anything, but only in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which this world has come to an end on the cross for me, and I for it.

15For having circumcision is nothing, and not having circumcision is nothing, but only a new order of existence.

16And on all who are guided by this rule be peace and mercy, and on the Israel of God.

17From this time on let no man be a trouble to me; because my body is marked with the marks of Jesus.

18The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit, brothers. So be it.

Leave a Reply

