December 7

Isaiah 42

1See my servant, whom I am supporting, my loved one, in whom I take delight: I have put my spirit on him; he will give the knowledge of the true God to the nations.

2He will make no cry, his voice will not be loud: his words will not come to men’s ears in the streets.

3He will not let a crushed stem be quite broken, and he will not let a feebly burning light be put out: he will go on sending out the true word to the peoples.

4His light will not be put out, and he will not be crushed, till he has given the knowledge of the true God to the earth, and the sea-lands will be waiting for his teaching.

5God the Lord, even he who made the heavens, measuring them out on high; stretching out the earth, and giving its produce; he who gives breath to the people on it, and life to those who go about on it, says:

6I the Lord have made you the vessel of my purpose, I have taken you by the hand, and kept you safe, and I have given you to be an agreement to the people, and a light to the nations:

7To give eyes to the blind, to make free the prisoners from the prison, to let out those who are shut up in the dark.

8I am the Lord; that is my name: I will not give my glory to another, or my praise to pictured images.

9See, the things said before have come about, and now I give word of new things: before they come I give you news of them.

10Make a new song to the Lord, and let his praise be sounded from the end of the earth; you who go down to the sea, and everything in it, the sea-lands and their people.

11Let the waste land and its flocks be glad, the tent-circles of Kedar; let the people of the rock give a glad cry, from the top of the mountains let them make a sound of joy.

12Let them give glory to the Lord, sounding his praise in the sea-lands.

13The Lord will go out as a man of war, he will be moved to wrath like a fighting-man: his voice will be strong, he will give a loud cry; he will go against his attackers like a man of war.

14I have long been quiet, I have kept myself in and done nothing: now I will make sounds of pain like a woman in childbirth, breathing hard and quickly.

15I will make waste mountains and hills, drying up all their plants; and I will make rivers dry, and pools dry land.

16And I will take the blind by a way of which they had no knowledge, guiding them by roads strange to them: I will make the dark places light before them, and the rough places level. These things will I do and will not give them up.

17They will be turned back and be greatly shamed who put their hope in pictured images, who say to metal images, You are our gods.

18Give ear, you whose ears are shut; and let your eyes be open, you blind, so that you may see.

19Who is blind, but my servant? who has his ears stopped, but he whom I send? who is blind as my true one, or who has his ears shut like the Lord’s servant?

20Seeing much, but keeping nothing in mind; his ears are open, but there is no hearing.

21It was the Lord’s pleasure, because of his righteousness, to make the teaching great and give it honour.

22But this is a people whose property has been taken away from them by force; they are all taken in holes, and shut up in prisons: they are made prisoners, and no one makes them free; they are taken by force and no one says, Give them back.

23Who is there among you who will give ear to this? who will give attention to it for the time to come?

24Who gave up Jacob to those who took away his goods, and Israel to his attackers? Did not the Lord? he against whom they did wrong, and in whose ways they would not go, turning away from his teaching.

25For this reason he let loose on him the heat of his wrath, and his strength was like a flame; and it put fire round about him, but he did not see it; he was burned, but did not take it to heart.

Ezekiel 10

1Then looking, I saw that on the arch which was over the head of the winged ones there was seen over them what seemed like a sapphire stone, having the form of a king’s seat.

2And he said to the man clothed in linen, Go in between the wheels, under the winged ones, and get your two hands full of burning coals from between the winged ones and send them in a shower over the town. And he went in before my eyes.

3Now the winged ones were stationed on the right side of the house when the man went in; and the inner square was full of the cloud.

4And the glory of the Lord went up from the winged ones and came to rest over the doorstep of the house; and the house was full of the cloud and the open square was full of the shining of the Lord’s glory.

5And the sound of the wings of the winged ones was clear even in the outer square, like the voice of the Ruler of all.

6And when he gave orders to the man clothed in linen, saying, Take fire from between the wheels, from between the winged ones, then he went in and took his place at the side of a wheel.

7And stretching out his hand to the fire which was between the winged ones, he took some of it and went out.

8And I saw the form of a man’s hands among the winged ones under their wings.

9And looking, I saw four wheels by the side of the winged ones, one wheel by the side of a winged one and another wheel by the side of another: and the wheels were like the colour of a beryl stone to the eye.

10In form the four of them were all the same, they seemed like a wheel inside a wheel.

11When they were moving, they went on their four sides without turning; they went after the head in the direction in which it was looking; they went without turning.

12And the edges of the four wheels were full of eyes round about.

13As for the wheels, they were named in my hearing, the circling wheels.

14And every one had four faces: the first face was the face of a winged one, and the second was the face of a man, and the third the face of a lion, and the fourth the face of an eagle.

15And the winged ones went up on high: this is the living being which I saw by the river Chebar.

16And when the winged ones went, the wheels went by their side: and when their wings were lifted to take them up from the earth, the wheels were not turned from their side.

17When they were at rest in their place, these were at rest; when they were lifted up, these went up with them: for the spirit of life was in them.

18Then the glory of the Lord went out from the doorstep of the house, and came to rest over the winged ones.

19And the winged ones, lifting up their wings, went up from the earth before my eyes, with the wheels by their side: and they came to rest at the east doorway of the Lord’s house; and the glory of the God of Israel was over them on high.

20This is the living being which I saw under the God of Israel by the river Chebar; and it was clear to me that they were the winged ones.

21Every one had four faces and every one had four wings; and hands like a man’s hands were under their wings.

22As for the form of their faces, they were the faces whose form I saw by the river Chebar; when they went, every one of them went straight forward.

Ezekiel 11

1And the wind, lifting me up, took me to the east doorway of the Lord’s house, looking to the east: and at the door I saw twenty-five men; and among them I saw Jaazaniah, the son of Azzur, and Pelatiah, the son of Benaiah, rulers of the people.

2Then he said to me, Son of man, these are the men who are designing evil, who are teaching evil ways in this town:

3Who say, This is not the time for building houses: this town is the cooking-pot and we are the flesh.

4For this cause be a prophet against them, be a prophet, O son of man.

5And the spirit of the Lord came on me, and he said to me, Say, These are the words of the Lord: This is what you have said, O children of Israel; what comes into your mind is clear to me.

6You have made great the number of your dead in this town, you have made its streets full of dead men.

7For this reason the Lord has said: Your dead whom you have put down in its streets, they are the flesh, and this town is the cooking-pot: but I will make you come out from inside it.

8You have been fearing the sword, and I will send the sword on you, says the Lord.

9I will make you come out from inside the town and will give you up into the hands of men from other lands, and will be judge among you.

10You will come to your death by the sword; and I will be your judge in the land of Israel; and you will be certain that I am the Lord.

11This town will not be your cooking-pot, and you will not be the flesh inside it; I will be your judge at the limit of the land of Israel;

12And you will be certain that I am the Lord: for you have not been guided by my rules or given effect to my orders, but you have been living by the orders of the nations round about you.

13Now while I was saying these things, death came to Pelatiah, the son of Benaiah. Then falling down on my face and crying out with a loud voice, I said, Ah, Lord! will you put an end to all the rest of Israel?

14And the word of the Lord came to me, saying,

15Son of man, your countrymen, your relations, and all the children of Israel, all of them, are those to whom the people of Jerusalem have said, Go far from the Lord; this land is given to us for a heritage:

16For this reason say, This is what the Lord has said: Though I have had them moved far off among the nations, and though I have sent them wandering among the countries, still I have been a safe place for them for a little time in the countries where they have come.

17Then say, This is what the Lord has said: I will get you together from the peoples, and make you come out of the countries where you have been sent in flight, and I will give you the land of Israel.

18And they will come there, and take away all the hated and disgusting things from it.

19And I will give them a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in them; and I will take the heart of stone out of their flesh and give them a heart of flesh:

20So that they may be guided by my rules and keep my orders and do them: and they will be to me a people, and I will be to them a God.

21But as for those whose heart goes after their hated and disgusting things, I will send on their heads the punishment of their ways, says the Lord.

22Then the wings of the winged ones were lifted up, and the wheels were by their side; and the glory of the God of Israel was over them on high.

23And the glory of the Lord went up from inside the town, and came to rest on the mountain on the east side of the town.

24And the wind, lifting me up, took me in the visions of God into Chaldaea, to those who had been taken away as prisoners. So the vision which I had seen went away from me.

25Then I gave an account to those who had been taken prisoners of all the things which the Lord had made me see.

Ephesians 4:1-16

1I then, the prisoner in the Lord, make this request from my heart, that you will see that your behaviour is a credit to the position which God’s purpose has given you,

2With all gentle and quiet behaviour, taking whatever comes, putting up with one another in love;

3Taking care to keep the harmony of the Spirit in the yoke of peace.

4There is one body and one Spirit, even as you have been marked out by God in the one hope of his purpose for you;

5One Lord, one faith, one baptism,

6One God and Father of all, who is over all, and through all, and in all.

7But to every one of us has grace been given in the measure of the giving of Christ.

8For this reason he says, He went up on high, taking his prisoners with him, and gave freely to men.

9(Now this, He went up, what is it but that he first went down into the lower parts of the earth?

10He who went down is the same who went up far over all the heavens so that he might make all things complete.)

11And he gave some as Apostles, and some, prophets; and some, preachers of the good news; and some to give care and teaching;

12For the training of the saints as servants in the church, for the building up of the body of Christ:

13Till we all come to the harmony of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to full growth, to the full measure of Christ:

14So that we may be no longer children, sent this way and that, turned about by every wind of teaching, by the twisting and tricks of men, by the deceits of error;

15But saying true words in love, may come to full growth in him, who is the head, even Christ;

16Through whom all the body, being rightly formed and united together, by the full working of every part, is increased to the building up of itself in love.

Leave a Reply

