December 30

Isaiah 65

1I have been ready to give an answer to those who did not make prayer to me; I have been offering myself to those who were not searching for me; I said, Here am I, here am I, to a nation which gave no respect to my name.

2All day my hands have been stretched out to an uncontrolled people, who go in an evil way, after the purposes of their hearts;

3A people who make me angry every day, making offerings in gardens, and burning perfumes on bricks.

4Who are seated in the resting-places of the dead, and by night are in the secret places; who take pig’s flesh for food, and have the liquid of disgusting things in their vessels.

5Who say, Keep away, do not come near me, for fear that I make you holy: these are a smoke in my nose, a fire burning all day.

6See, it is recorded before me, says the Lord: I will not keep back my hand, till I have sent punishment,

7For their sins and the sins of their fathers, who were burning perfumes on the mountains, and saying evil things against me on the hills: so I will take the measure of their sins, and will send the punishment for them into their breast.

8This is the word of the Lord: As the new wine is seen in the grapes, and they say, Do not send destruction on it, for a blessing is in it: so will I do for my servants, in order that I may not put an end to them all.

9And I will take a seed out of Jacob, and out of Judah one who will have my mountains for a heritage: and the people I have taken to be mine will have it for themselves, and my servants will have their resting-place there.

10And Sharon will be a grass-land for the flocks, and the valley of Achor a resting-place for the herds: for my people whose hearts have been turned back to me.

11But as for you who have given up the Lord, who have no care for my holy mountain, who get ready a table for Chance, and make offerings of mixed wine to Fate;

12Your fate will be the sword, and you will all go down to death: because when my voice came to you, you made no answer; you did not give ear to my word; but you did what was evil in my eyes, desiring what was not pleasing to me.

13For this cause says the Lord God, My servants will have food, but you will be in need of food: my servants will have drink, but you will be dry: my servants will have joy, but you will be shamed:

14My servants will make songs in the joy of their hearts, but you will be crying for sorrow, and making sounds of grief from a broken spirit.

15And your name will become a curse to my people, and the Lord God will put you to death, and give his servants another name:

16So that he who is requesting a blessing will make use of the name of the true God, and he who takes an oath will do so by the true God; because the past troubles are gone out of mind, and because they are covered from my eyes.

17For see, I am making a new heaven and a new earth: and the past things will be gone completely out of mind.

18But men will be glad and have joy for ever in what I am making; for I am making Jerusalem a delight, and her people a joy.

19And I will be glad over Jerusalem, and have joy in my people: and the voice of weeping will no longer be sounding in her, or the voice of grief.

20No longer will there be there a child whose days are cut short, or an old man whose days have not come to their full measure: for the young man at his death will be a hundred years old, and he whose life is shorter than a hundred years will seem as one cursed.

21And they will be building houses and living in them; planting vine-gardens and getting the fruit of them.

22They will no longer be building for the use of others, or planting for others to have the fruit: for the days of my people will be like the days of a tree, and my loved ones will have joy in full measure in the work of their hands.

23Their work will not be for nothing, and they will not give birth to children for destruction; for they are a seed to whom the Lord has given his blessing, and their offspring will be with them.

24And before they make their request I will give an answer, and while they are still making prayer to me, I will give ear.

25The wolf and the lamb will take their food together, and the lion will make a meal of grass like the ox: but dust will be the snake’s food. There will be no cause of pain or destruction in all my holy mountain, says the Lord.

Ezekiel 46

1This is what the Lord has said: The doorway of the inner square looking to the east is to be shut on the six working days; but on the Sabbath it is to be open, and at the time of the new moon it is to be open.

2And the ruler is to go in through the covered way of the outer doorway outside, and take his place by the pillar of the doorway, and the priests will make his burned offering and his peace-offerings and he will give worship at the doorstep of the doorway; then he will go out, and the door will not be shut till the evening.

3And the people of the land are to give worship at the door of that doorway before the Lord on the Sabbaths and at the new moons.

4And the burned offering offered to the Lord by the ruler on the Sabbath day is to be six lambs without a mark on them and a male sheep without a mark;

5And the meal offering is to be an ephah for the sheep, and for the lambs whatever he is able to give, and a hin of oil to an ephah.

6And at the time of the new moon it is to be a young ox of the herd without a mark on him, and six lambs and a male sheep, all without a mark:

7And he is to give a meal offering, an ephah for the ox and an ephah for the sheep, and for the lambs whatever he is able to give, and a hin of oil to an ephah.

8And when the ruler comes in, he is to go in through the covered way of the doorway, and he is to go out by the same way.

9But when the people of the land come before the Lord at the fixed feasts, he who comes in by the north doorway to give worship is to go out by the south doorway; and he who comes in by the south doorway is to go out by the north doorway: he is not to come back by the doorway through which he went in, but is to go straight before him.

10And the ruler, when they come in, is to come among them, and is to go out when they go out.

11At the feasts and the fixed meetings the meal offerings are to be an ephah for an ox, and an ephah for a male sheep, and for the lambs whatever he is able to give, and a hin of oil to an ephah.

12And when the ruler makes a free offering, a burned offering or a peace-offering freely given to the Lord, the doorway looking to the east is to be made open for him, and he is to make his burned offering and his peace-offerings as he does on the Sabbath day: and he will go out; and the door will be shut after he has gone out.

13And you are to give a lamb a year old without any mark on it for a burned offering to the Lord every day: morning by morning you are to give it.

14And you are to give, morning by morning, a meal offering with it, a sixth of an ephah and a third of a hin of oil dropped on the best meal; a meal offering offered to the Lord at all times by an eternal order.

15And they are to give the lamb and the meal offering and the oil, morning by morning, for a burned offering at all times.

16This is what the Lord has said: If the ruler gives a property to any of his sons, it is his heritage and will be the property of his sons; it is theirs for their heritage.

17And if he gives a part of his heritage to one of his servants, it will be his till the year of making free, and then it will go back to the ruler; for it is his sons’ heritage, and is to be theirs.

18And the ruler is not to take the heritage of any of the people, driving them out of their property; he is to give a heritage to his sons out of the property which is his: so that my people may not be sent away from their property.

19And he took me through by the way in at the side of the doorway into the holy rooms which are the priests’, looking to the north: and I saw a place at the side of them to the west.

20And he said to me, This is the place where the offering for error and the sin-offering are to be cooked in water by the priests, and where the meal offering is to be cooked in the oven; so that they may not be taken out into the outer square to make the people holy.

21And he took me out into the outer square and made me go by the four angles of the square; and I saw that in every angle of the open square there was a space shut in.

22In the four angles there were spaces walled in, forty cubits long and thirty wide; the four were of the same size.

23And there was a line of wall all round inside them, round all four, and boiling-places were made under it all round about.

24And he said to me, These are the boiling-rooms, where the offering of the people is cooked by the servants of the house.

Ezekiel 47

1And he took me back to the door of the house; and I saw that waters were flowing out from under the doorstep of the house on the east, for the house was facing east: and the waters came down from under, from the right side of the house, on the south side of the altar.

2And he took me out by the north doorway, and made me go round to the outside of the doorway looking to the east; and I saw waters running slowly out on the south side.

3And the man went out to the east with the line in his hand, and after measuring a thousand cubits, he made me go through the waters, which came over my feet.

4And again, measuring a thousand cubits, he made me go through the waters which came up to my knees. Again, measuring a thousand, he made me go through the waters up to the middle of my body.

5Again, after his measuring a thousand, it became a river which it was not possible to go through: for the waters had become deep enough for swimming, a river it was not possible to go through.

6And he said to me, Son of man, have you seen this? Then he took me to the river’s edge.

7And he took me back, and I saw at the edge of the river a very great number of trees on this side and on that.

8And he said to me, These waters are flowing out to the east part of the land and down into the Arabah; and they will go to the sea, and the waters will be made sweet.

9And it will come about that every living and moving thing, wherever their streams come, will have life; and there will be very much fish because these waters have come there and have been made sweet: and everything wherever the river comes will have life.

10And fishermen will take up their places by it: from En-gedi as far as En-eglaim will be a place for the stretching out of nets; the fish will be of every sort, like the fish of the Great Sea, a very great number.

11The wet places and the pools will not be made sweet; they will be given up to salt.

12And by the edge of the river, on this side and on that, will come up every tree used for food, whose leaves will ever be green and its fruit will not come to an end: it will have new fruit every month, because its waters come out from the holy place: the fruit will be for food and the leaf will make well those who are ill.

13This is what the Lord has said: These are the limits by which you will take up your heritage in the land among the twelve tribes of Israel: Joseph is to have two parts.

14And you are to make an equal division of it; as I gave my oath to your fathers to give it to you: for this land is to be your heritage.

15And this is to be the limit of the land: on the north side, from the Great Sea, in the direction of Hethlon, as far as the way into Hamath;

16To Zedad, Berothah, Sibraim, which is between the limit of Damascus and the limit of Hazar-hatticon, which is on the limit of Hauran.

17And this is the limit from the sea in the direction of Hazar-enon; and the limit of Damascus is to the north, and on the north is the limit of Hamath. This is the north side.

18And the east side will be from Hazar-enon, which is between Hauran and Damascus; and between Gilead and the land of Israel the Jordan will be the limit, to the east sea, to Tamar. This is the east side.

19And the south side to the south will be from Tamar as far as the waters of Meribath-kadesh, to the stream of Egypt, to the Great Sea. This is the south side, on the south.

20And the west side will be the Great Sea, from the limit on the south to a point opposite the way into Hamath. This is the west side.

21You will make a division of the land among you, tribe by tribe.

22And you are to make a distribution of it, by the decision of the Lord, for a heritage to you and to the men from other lands who are living among you and who have children in your land: they will be the same to you as if they were Israelites by birth, they will have their heritage with you among the tribes of Israel.

23In whatever tribe the man from a strange land is living, there you are to give him his heritage, says the Lord.

Luke 4:31-44

31And he came down to Capernaum, a town of Galilee; and he was giving them teaching on the Sabbath.

32And they were surprised at his teaching, for his word was with authority.

33And there was a man in the Synagogue who had an unclean spirit; and he gave a loud cry and said,

34Let us be! what have we to do with you, Jesus of Nazareth? have you come to put an end to us? I have knowledge who you are, the Holy One of God.

35And Jesus said to him, Be quiet, and come out of him. And when the evil spirit had put him down on the earth in the middle of them, he came out of him, having done him no damage.

36And wonder came on them all and they said to one another, What are these words? for with authority and power he gives orders to the evil spirits and they come out.

37And there was much talk about him in all the places round about.

38And he got up and went out of the Synagogue and went into the house of Simon. And Simon’s wife’s mother was very ill with a burning heat; and in answer to their prayers for her

39He went near her, and with a sharp word he gave orders to the disease and it went away from her; and straight away she got up and took care of their needs.

40And at sundown all those who had anyone ill with any sort of disease, took them to him, and he put his hands on every one of them and made them well.

41And evil spirits came out of a number of them, crying out and saying, You are the Son of God. But he gave them sharp orders not to say a word, because they had knowledge that he was the Christ.

42And when it was day, he came out and went to a waste place; and great numbers of people came looking for him, and they came to him and would have kept him from going away.

43But he said to them, I have to give the good news of the kingdom of God in other towns, because that is why I was sent.

44And he was teaching in the Synagogues of Galilee.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Letting Down Our Nets 011412 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

