January 13

Genesis 20

1And Abraham went on his way from there to the land of the South, and was living between Kadesh and Shur, in Gerar.

2And Abraham said of Sarah, his wife, She is my sister: and Abimelech, king of Gerar, sent and took Sarah.

3But God came to Abimelech in a dream in the night, and said to him, Truly you are a dead man because of the woman whom you have taken; for she is a man’s wife.

4Now Abimelech had not come near her; and he said, Lord, will you put to death an upright nation?

5Did he not say to me himself, She is my sister? and she herself said, He is my brother: with an upright heart and clean hands have I done this.

6And God said to him in the dream, I see that you have done this with an upright heart, and I have kept you from sinning against me: for this reason I did not let you come near her.

7So now, give the man back his wife, for he is a prophet, and let him say a prayer for you, so your life may be safe: but if you do not give her back, be certain that death will come to you and all your house.

8So Abimelech got up early in the morning and sent for all his servants and gave them word of these things, and they were full of fear.

9Then Abimelech sent for Abraham, and said, What have you done to us? what wrong have I done you that you have put on me and on my kingdom so great a sin? You have done to me things which are not to be done.

10And Abimelech said to Abraham, Why did you do this thing?

11And Abraham said, Because it seemed to me that there was no fear of God in this place, and that they might put me to death because of my wife.

12And, in fact, she is my sister, the daughter of my father, but not the daughter of my mother; and she became my wife:

13And when God sent me wandering from my father’s house, I said to her, Let this be the sign of your love for me; wherever we go, say of me, He is my brother.

14Then Abimelech gave to Abraham sheep and oxen and men-servants and women-servants, and gave him back his wife Sarah.

15And Abimelech said, See, all my land is before you; take whatever place seems good to you.

16And he said to Sarah, See, I have given to your brother a thousand bits of silver so that your wrong may be put right; now your honour is clear in the eyes of all.

17Then Abraham made prayer to God, and God made Abimelech well again, and his wife and his women-servants, so that they had children.

18For the Lord had kept all the women of the house of Abimelech from having children, because of Sarah, Abraham’s wife.

Psalms 13

To the chief music-maker. A Psalm. Of David.

1 Will you for ever put me out of your memory, O Lord? will your face for ever be turned away from me?

2How long is my soul to be in doubt, with sorrow in my heart all the day? how long will he who is against me be given power over me?

3Let my voice come before you, and give me an answer, O Lord my God; let your light be shining on me, so that the sleep of death may not overtake me;

4And he who is against me may not say, I have overcome him; and those who are troubling me may not be glad when I am moved.

5But I have had faith in your mercy; my heart will be glad in your salvation.

6I will make a song to the Lord, because he has given me my reward.

Luke 11:29-54

29And when a great number of people came together to him, he said, This generation is an evil generation: it is looking for a sign and no sign will be given to it but the sign of Jonah.

30For even as Jonah became a sign to the Ninevites, so will the Son of man be to this generation.

31The queen of the South will come up on the day of judging and give her decision against the men of this generation: for she came from the ends of the earth to give ear to the wisdom of Solomon; and now something greater than Solomon is here.

32The men of Nineveh will come up in the day of judging and give their decision against this generation: for they were turned away from their sins at the preaching of Jonah; but now something greater than Jonah is here.

33No man, when the light has been lighted, puts it in a secret place, or under a vessel, but on its table, so that those who come in may see the light.

34The light of the body is the eye: when your eye is true, all your body is full of light; but when it is evil, your body is dark.

35So take care that the light which is in you is not dark.

36If, then, all your body is light, with no part of it dark, it will be completely full of light, as when a flame with its bright shining gives you light.

37Now, while he was talking, a Pharisee made a request that he would come to a meal with him; and he went in and took his seat at the meal.

38And when the Pharisee saw it, he was surprised because he came to the meal without first washing himself.

39And the Lord said to him, You Pharisees make the outside of the cup and the plate clean; but inside you are thieves and full of evil.

40O you foolish ones! did not he who made the outside in the same way make the inside?

41But if you give to the poor such things as you are able, then all things are clean to you.

42But a curse is on you, Pharisees! for you make men give a tenth of every sort of plant, and give no thought to right and the love of God; but it is right for you to do these things, and not let the others be undone.

43A curse is on you, Pharisees! for your desires are for the most important seats in the Synagogues and for words of respect said to you in the market-place.

44A curse is on you! for you are like the resting-places of dead men, which are not seen, and men go walking over them without knowledge of it.

45And one of the teachers of the law, answering, said to him, Master, in saying this, you give a bad name to us as to them.

46And he said, A curse is on you, teachers of the law! for while other men are crushed under the weight of the rules you make for them, you yourselves do not put so much as one finger to them.

47A curse is on you! for you make resting-places for the bodies of the prophets, but your fathers put them to death.

48So you are witnesses and give approval to the work of your fathers; for they put them to death and you make their last resting-places.

49For this reason the wisdom of God has said, I will send them prophets and teachers, and to some of them they will give death and cruel pains;

50So that punishment may come on this generation for the blood of all the prophets which was given from the earliest days;

51From the blood of Abel to the blood of Zachariah, who was put to death between the altar and the Temple. Yes, I say to you, It will come on this generation.

52A curse is on you, teachers of the law! for you have taken away the key of knowledge: you did not go in yourselves, and you got in the way of those who were going in.

53And when he had come out of that place, the scribes and the Pharisees came round him angrily, questioning him about more things;

54And watching him, for a chance to get something from his words which might be used against him.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Genesis 20. Abraham And Abimelech | Bummyla

Leave a Reply

