January 16

Genesis 23

1Now the years of Sarah’s life were a hundred and twenty-seven.

2And Sarah’s death took place in Kiriath-arba, that is, Hebron, in the land of Canaan: and Abraham went into his house, weeping and sorrowing for Sarah.

3And Abraham came from his dead and said to the children of Heth,

4I am living among you as one from a strange country: give me some land here as my property, so that I may put my dead to rest.

5And in answer the children of Heth said to Abraham,

6My lord, truly you are a great chief among us; take the best of our resting-places for your dead; not one of us will keep back from you a place where you may put your dead to rest.

7And Abraham got up and gave honour to the children of Heth, the people of that land.

8And he said to them, If you will let me put my dead to rest here, make a request for me to Ephron, the son of Zohar,

9That he will give me the hollow in the rock named Machpelah, which is his property at the end of his field; let him give it to me for its full price as a resting-place for my dead among you.

10Now Ephron was seated among the children of Heth: and Ephron the Hittite gave Abraham his answer in the hearing of the children of Heth, and of all those who came into his town, saying,

11No, my lord, I will give you the field with the hollow in the rock; before all the children of my people will I give it to you for a resting-place for your dead.

12And Abraham went down on his face before the people of the land.

13And Abraham said to Ephron, in the hearing of the people of the land, If only you will give ear to me, I will give you the price of the field; take it, and let me put my dead to rest there.

14So Ephron said to Abraham,

15My lord, give ear to me: the value of the land is four hundred shekels; what is that between me and you? so put your dead to rest there.

16And Abraham took note of the price fixed by Ephron in the hearing of the children of Heth, and gave him four hundred shekels in current money.

17So Ephron’s field at Machpelah near Mamre, with the hollow in the rock and all the trees in the field and round it,

18Became the property of Abraham before the eyes of the children of Heth and of all who came into the town.

19Then Abraham put Sarah his wife to rest in the hollow rock in the field of Machpelah near Mamre, that is, Hebron in the land of Canaan.

20And the field and the hollow rock were handed over to Abraham as his property by the children of Heth.

Psalms 16

Michtam. Of David.

1 Keep me safe, O God: for in you I have put my faith.

2O my soul, you have said to the Lord, You are my Lord: I have no good but you.

3As for the saints who are in the earth, they are the noble in whom is all my delight.

4Their sorrows will be increased who go after another god: I will not take drink offerings from their hands, or take their names on my lips.

5The Lord is my heritage and the wine of my cup; you are the supporter of my right.

6Fair are the places marked out for me; I have a noble heritage.

7I will give praise to the Lord who has been my guide; knowledge comes to me from my thoughts in the night.

8I have put the Lord before me at all times; because he is at my right hand, I will not be moved.

9Because of this my heart is glad, and my glory is full of joy: while my flesh takes its rest in hope.

10For you will not let my soul be prisoned in the underworld; you will not let your loved one see the place of death.

11You will make clear to me the way of life; where you are joy is complete; in your right hand there are pleasures for ever and ever.

Luke 13:1-17

1Now some people who were there at that time, gave him an account of how the blood of some Galilaeans had been mixed by Pilate with their offerings.

2And he, in answer, said to them, Are you of the opinion that these Galilaeans were worse than all other Galilaeans, because these things were done to them?

3I say to you, It is not so: but if your hearts are not changed, you will all come to the same end.

4Or those eighteen men who were crushed by the fall of the tower of Siloam, were they worse than all the other men living in Jerusalem?

5I say to you, It is not so: but if your hearts are not changed, you will all come to an end in the same way.

6And he made up this story for them: A certain man had a fig-tree in his garden, and he came to get fruit from it, and there was no fruit.

7And he said to the gardener, See, for three years I have been looking for fruit from this tree, and I have not had any: let it be cut down; why is it taking up space?

8And he said, Lord, let it be for this year, and I will have the earth turned up round it, and put animal waste on it, to make it fertile:

9And if, after that, it has fruit, it is well; if not, let it be cut down.

10And he was teaching in one of the Synagogues on the Sabbath.

11And there was a woman who had had a disease for eighteen years; she was bent, and was not able to make herself straight.

12And when Jesus saw her, he said to her, Woman, you are made free from your disease.

13And he put his hands on her, and she was made straight, and gave praise to God.

14And the ruler of the Synagogue was angry because Jesus had made her well on the Sabbath, and he said to the people, There are six days in which men may do work: so come on those days to be made well, and not on the Sabbath.

15But the Lord gave him an answer and said, O you false men! do you not, every one of you, on the Sabbath, let loose his ox and his ass and take it to the water?

16And is it not right for this daughter of Abraham, who has been in the power of Satan for eighteen years, to be made free on the Sabbath?

17And when he said these things, those who were against him were shamed, and all the people were full of joy because of the great things which were done by him.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Genesis 23. Sarah Dies And Abraham Buys A Burial Ground | Bummyla

Leave a Reply

