January 22

Genesis 29:1-30

1Then Jacob went on his journey till he came to the land of the children of the East.

2And there he saw a water-hole in a field, and by the side of it three flocks of sheep, for there they got water for the sheep: and on the mouth of the water-hole there was a great stone.

3And all the flocks would come together there, and when the stone had been rolled away, they would give the sheep water, and put the stone back again in its place on the mouth of the water-hole.

4Then Jacob said to the herdmen, My brothers, where do you come from? And they said, From Haran.

5And he said to them, Have you any knowledge of Laban, the son of Nahor? And they said, We have.

6And he said to them, Is he well? And they said, He is well, and here is Rachel his daughter coming with the sheep.

7Then Jacob said, The sun is still high and it is not time to get the cattle together: get water for the sheep and go and give them their food.

8And they said, We are not able to do so till all the flocks have come together and the stone has been rolled away from the mouth of the water-hole; then we will get water for the sheep.

9While he was still talking with them, Rachel came with her father’s sheep, for she took care of them.

10Then when Jacob saw Rachel, the daughter of Laban, his mother’s brother, coming with Laban’s sheep, he came near, and rolling the stone away from the mouth of the hole, he got water for Laban’s flock.

11And weeping for joy, Jacob gave Rachel a kiss.

12And Rachel, hearing from Jacob that he was her father’s relation and that he was the son of Rebekah, went running to give her father news of it.

13And Laban, hearing news of Jacob, his sister’s son, came running, and took Jacob in his arms, and kissing him, made him come into his house. And Jacob gave him news of everything.

14And Laban said to him, Truly, you are my bone and my flesh. And he kept Jacob with him for the space of a month.

15Then Laban said to Jacob, Because you are my brother are you to be my servant for nothing? say now, what is your payment to be?

16Now Laban had two daughters: the name of the older was Leah, and the name of the younger was Rachel.

17And Leah’s eyes were clouded, but Rachel was fair in face and form.

18And Jacob was in love with Rachel; and he said, I will be your servant seven years for Rachel, your younger daughter.

19And Laban said, It is better for you to have her than another man: go on living here with me.

20And Jacob did seven years’ work for Rachel; and because of his love for her it seemed to him only a very little time.

21Then Jacob said to Laban, Give me my wife so that I may have her, for the days are ended.

22And Laban got together all the men of the place and gave a feast.

23And in the evening he took Leah, his daughter, and gave her to him, and he went in to her.

24And Laban gave Zilpah, his servant-girl, to Leah, to be her waiting-woman.

25And in the morning Jacob saw that it was Leah: and he said to Laban, What have you done to me? was I not working for you so that I might have Rachel? why have you been false to me?

26And Laban said, In our country we do not let the younger daughter be married before the older.

27Let the week of the bride-feast come to its end and then we will give you the other in addition, if you will be my servant for another seven years.

28And Jacob did so; and when the week was ended, Laban gave him his daughter Rachel for his wife.

29And Laban gave Rachel his servant-girl Bilhah to be her waiting-woman.

30Then Jacob took Rachel as his wife, and his love for her was greater than his love for Leah; and he went on working for Laban for another seven years.

Psalms 22

To the chief music-maker on Aijeleth-hash-shahar. A Psalm. Of David.

1 My God, my God, why are you turned away from me? why are you so far from helping me, and from the words of my crying?

2O my God, I make my cry in the day, and you give no answer; and in the night, and have no rest.

3But you are holy, O you who are seated among the praises of Israel.

4Our fathers had faith in you: they had faith and you were their saviour.

5They sent up their cry to you and were made free: they put their faith in you and were not put to shame.

6But I am a worm and not a man; cursed by men, and looked down on by the people.

7I am laughed at by all those who see me: pushing out their lips and shaking their heads they say,

8He put his faith in the Lord; let the Lord be his saviour now: let the Lord be his saviour, because he had delight in him.

9But it was you who took care of me from the day of my birth: you gave me faith even from my mother’s breasts.

10I was in your hands even before my birth; you are my God from the time when I was in my mother’s body.

11Be not far from me, for trouble is near; there is no one to give help.

12A great herd of oxen is round me: I am shut in by the strong oxen of Bashan.

13I saw their mouths wide open, like lions crying after food.

14I am flowing away like water, and all my bones are out of place: my heart is like wax, it has become soft in my body.

15My throat is dry like a broken vessel; my tongue is fixed to the roof of my mouth, and the dust of death is on my lips.

16Dogs have come round me: I am shut in by the band of evil-doers; they made wounds in my hands and feet.

17I am able to see all my bones; their looks are fixed on me:

18They make a division of my robes among them, by the decision of chance they take my clothing.

19Do not be far from me, O Lord: O my strength, come quickly to my help.

20Make my soul safe from the sword, my life from the power of the dog.

21Be my saviour from the lion’s mouth; let me go free from the horns of the cruel oxen.

22I will give the knowledge of your name to my brothers: I will give you praise among the people.

23You who have fear of the Lord, give him praise; all you seed of Jacob, give him glory; go in fear of him, all you seed of Israel.

24For he has not been unmoved by the pain of him who is troubled; or kept his face covered from him; but he has given an answer to his cry.

25My praise will be of you in the great meeting: I will make my offerings before his worshippers.

26The poor will have a feast of good things: those who make search for the Lord will give him praise: your heart will have life for ever.

27All the ends of the earth will keep it in mind and be turned to the Lord: all the families of the nations will give him worship.

28For the kingdom is the Lord’s; he is the ruler among the nations.

29All the fat ones of the earth will give him worship; all those who go down to the dust will make themselves low before him, even he who has not enough for the life of his soul.

30A seed will be his servant; the doings of the Lord will be made clear to the generation which comes after.

31They will come and make his righteousness clear to a people of the future because he has done this.

Luke 17

1And he said to his disciples, It is necessary for causes of trouble to come about, but unhappy is he by whom they come.

2It would be well for him if a great stone was put round his neck and he was dropped into the sea, before he made trouble for any of these little ones.

3Give attention to yourselves: if your brother does wrong, say a sharp word to him; and if he has sorrow for his sin, let him have forgiveness.

4And if he does you wrong seven times in a day, and seven times comes to you and says, I have regret for what I have done; let him have forgiveness.

5And the twelve said to the Lord, Make our faith greater.

6And the Lord said, If your faith was only as great as a grain of mustard seed, you might say to this tree, Be rooted up and planted in the sea; and it would be done.

7But which of you, having a servant who is ploughing or keeping sheep, will say to him, when he comes in from the field, Come now and be seated and have a meal,

8Will he not say, Get a meal for me, and make yourself ready and see to my needs till I have had my food and drink; and after that you may have yours?

9Does he give praise to the servant because he did what was ordered?

10In the same way, when you have done all the things which are given you to do, say, There is no profit in us, for we have only done what we were ordered to do.

11And it came about that when they were on the way to Jerusalem he went through Samaria and Galilee.

12And when he went into a certain small town he came across ten men who were lepers, and they, keeping themselves at a distance,

13Said, in loud voices, Jesus, Master, have mercy on us.

14And when he saw them he said, Go, and let the priests see you. And, while they were going, they were made clean.

15And one of them, when he saw that he was clean, turning back, gave praise to God in a loud voice;

16And, falling down on his face at the feet of Jesus, he gave the credit to him; and he was a man of Samaria.

17And Jesus said, Were there not ten men who were made clean? where are the nine?

18Have not any of them come back to give glory to God, but only this one from a strange land?

19And he said to him, Get up, and go on your way; your faith has made you well.

20And when the Pharisees put questions to him about when the kingdom of God would come, he gave them an answer and said, The kingdom of God will not come through observation:

21And men will not say, See, it is here! or, There! for the kingdom of God is among you.

22And he said to his disciples, The time will come when you will have a great desire to see one of the days of the Son of man, but you will not see it.

23And if they say to you, See, it is there! or, It is here! do not go away, or go after them.

24For as in a thunderstorm the bright light is seen from one end of the sky to the other, so will the Son of man be when his time comes.

25But first, he will have to undergo much and be put on one side by this generation.

26And as it was in the days of Noah, so will it be in the day of the Son of man.

27They were feasting and taking wives and getting married, till the day of the overflowing of the waters, when Noah went into the ark, and they all came to destruction.

28In the same way, in the days of Lot; they were feasting and trading, they were planting and building;

29But on the day when Lot went out of Sodom, fire came down from heaven and destruction came on them all.

30So will it be in the day of the revelation of the Son of man.

31On that day, if anyone is on the roof of the house, and his goods are in the house, let him not go down to take them away; and let him who is in the field not go back to his house.

32Keep in mind Lot’s wife.

33If anyone makes an attempt to keep his life, it will be taken from him, but if anyone gives up his life, he will keep it.

34I say to you, In that night there will be two men sleeping in one bed, and one will be taken away and the other let go.

35Two women will be crushing grain together; one will be taken away and the other let go.

37And they, answering him, said, Where, Lord? And he said to them, Where the body is, there will the eagles come together.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Genesis 30. The Children Of Jacob | Bummyla

Leave a Reply

