January 25

Genesis 32

1And on his way Jacob came face to face with the angels of God.

2And when he saw them he said, This is the army of God: so he gave that place the name of Mahanaim.

3Now Jacob sent servants before him to Esau, his brother, in the land of Seir, the country of Edom;

4And he gave them orders to say these words to Esau: Your servant Jacob says, Till now I have been living with Laban:

5And I have oxen and asses and flocks and men-servants and women-servants: and I have sent to give my lord news of these things so that I may have grace in his eyes.

6When the servants came back they said, We have seen your brother Esau and he is coming out to you, and four hundred men with him.

7Then Jacob was in great fear and trouble of mind: and he put all the people and the flocks and the herds and the camels into two groups;

8And said, If Esau, meeting one group, makes an attack on them, the others will get away safely.

9Then Jacob said, O God of my father Abraham, the God of my father Isaac, the Lord who said to me, Go back to your country and your family and I will be good to you:

10I am less than nothing in comparison with all your mercies and your faith to me your servant; for with only my stick in my hand I went across Jordan, and now I have become two armies.

11Be my saviour from the hand of Esau, my brother: for my fear is that he will make an attack on me, putting to death mother and child.

12And you said, Truly, I will be good to you, and make your seed like the sand of the sea which may not be numbered.

13Then he put up his tent there for the night; and from among his goods he took, as an offering for his brother Esau,

14Two hundred she-goats and twenty he-goats, two hundred females and twenty males from the sheep,

15Thirty camels with their young ones, forty cows, ten oxen, twenty asses, and ten young asses.

16These he gave to his servants, every herd by itself, and he said to his servants, Go on before me, and let there be a space between one herd and another.

17And he gave orders to the first, saying, When my brother Esau comes to you and says, Whose servant are you, and where are you going, and whose are these herds?

18Then say to him, These are your servant Jacob’s; they are an offering for my lord, for Esau; and he himself is coming after us.

19And he gave the same orders to the second and the third and to all those who were with the herds, saying, This is what you are to say to Esau when you see him;

20And you are to say further, Jacob, your servant, is coming after us. For he said to himself, I will take away his wrath by the offering which I have sent on, and then I will come before him: it may be that I will have grace in his eyes.

21So the servants with the offerings went on in front, and he himself took his rest that night in the tents with his people.

22And in the night he got up, and taking with him his two wives and the two servant-women and his eleven children, he went over the river Jabbok.

23He took them and sent them over the stream with all he had.

24Then Jacob was by himself; and a man was fighting with him till dawn.

25But when the man saw that he was not able to overcome Jacob, he gave him a blow in the hollow part of his leg, so that his leg was damaged.

26And he said to him, Let me go now, for the dawn is near. But Jacob said, I will not let you go till you have given me your blessing.

27Then he said, What is your name? And he said, Jacob.

28And he said, Your name will no longer be Jacob, but Israel: for in your fight with God and with men you have overcome.

29Then Jacob said, What is your name? And he said, What is my name to you? Then he gave him a blessing.

30And Jacob gave that place the name of Peniel, saying, I have seen God face to face, and still I am living.

31And while he was going past Peniel, the sun came up. And he went with unequal steps because of his damaged leg.

32For this reason the children of Israel, even today, never take that muscle in the hollow of the leg as food, because the hollow of Jacob’s leg was touched.

Genesis 33

1Then Jacob, lifting up his eyes, saw Esau coming with his four hundred men. So he made a division of the children between Leah and Rachel and the two women-servants.

2He put the servants and their children in front, Leah and her children after them, and Rachel and Joseph at the back.

3And he himself, going before them, went down on his face to the earth seven times till he came near his brother.

4Then Esau came running up to him, and folding him in his arms, gave him a kiss: and the two of them were overcome with weeping.

5Then Esau, lifting up his eyes, saw the women and the children, and said, Who are these with you? And he said, The children whom God in his mercy has given to your servant.

6Then the servants and their children came near, and went down on their faces.

7And Leah came near with her children, and then Joseph and Rachel, and they did the same.

8And he said, What were all those herds which I saw on the way? And Jacob said, They were an offering so that I might have grace in my lord’s eyes.

9But Esau said, I have enough; keep what is yours, my brother, for yourself.

10And Jacob said, Not so; but if I have grace in your eyes, take them as a sign of my love, for I have seen your face as one may see the face of God, and you have been pleased with me.

11Take my offering then, with my blessing; for God has been very good to me and I have enough: so at his strong request, he took it.

12And he said, Let us go on our journey together, and I will go in front.

13But Jacob said, My lord may see that the children are only small, and there are young ones in my flocks and herds: one day’s over-driving will be the destruction of all the flock.

14Do you, my lord, go on before your servant; I will come on slowly, at the rate at which the cattle and the children are able to go, till I come to my lord at Seir.

15And Esau said, Then keep some of my men with you. And he said, What need is there for that, if my lord is pleased with me?

16So Esau, turning back that day, went on his way to Seir.

17And Jacob went on to Succoth, where he made a house for himself and put up tents for his cattle: for this reason the place was named Succoth.

18So Jacob came safely from Paddan-aram to the town of Shechem in the land of Canaan, and put up his tents near the town.

19And for a hundred bits of money he got from the children of Hamor, the builder of Shechem, the field in which he had put up his tents.

20And there he put up an altar, naming it El, the God of Israel.

Psalms 25

Of David.

1 To you, O Lord, my soul is lifted up.

2O my God, I have put my faith in you, let me not be shamed; let not my haters be glorying over me.

3Let no servant of yours be put to shame; may those be shamed who are false without cause.

4Make your steps clear to me, O Lord; give me knowledge of your ways.

5Be my guide and teacher in the true way; for you are the God of my salvation; I am waiting for your word all the day.

6O Lord, keep in mind your pity and your mercies; for they have been from the earliest times.

7Do not keep in mind my sins when I was young, or my wrongdoing: let your memory of me be full of mercy, O Lord, because of your righteousness.

8Good and upright is the Lord: so he will be the teacher of sinners in the way.

9He will be an upright guide to the poor in spirit: he will make his way clear to them.

10All the ways of the Lord are mercy and good faith for those who keep his agreement and his witness.

11Because of your name, O Lord, let me have forgiveness for my sin, which is very great.

12If a man has the fear of the Lord, the Lord will be his teacher in the way of his pleasure.

13His soul will be full of good things, and his seed will have the earth for its heritage.

14The secret of the Lord is with those in whose hearts is the fear of him; he will make his agreement clear to them.

15My eyes are turned to the Lord at all times; for he will take my feet out of the net.

16Be turned to me, and have mercy on me; for I am troubled and have no helper.

17The troubles of my heart are increased: O take me out of my sorrows.

18Give thought to my grief and my pain; and take away all my sins.

19See how those who are against me are increased, for bitter is their hate of me.

20O keep my soul, and take me out of danger: let me not be shamed, for I have put my faith in you.

21For my clean and upright ways keep me safe, because my hope is in you.

22Give Israel salvation, O God, out of all his troubles.

Luke 19:1-27

1And he went into Jericho, and when he was going through it,

2A man, named Zacchaeus, who was the chief tax-farmer, and a man of wealth,

3Made an attempt to get a view of Jesus, and was not able to do so, because of the people, for he was a small man.

4And he went quickly in front of them and got up into a tree to see him, for he was going that way.

5And when Jesus came to the place, looking up, he said to him, Zacchaeus, be quick and come down, for I am coming to your house today.

6And he came down quickly, and took him into his house with joy.

7And when they saw it, they were all angry, saying, He has gone into the house of a sinner.

8And Zacchaeus, waiting before him, said to the Lord, See, Lord, half of my goods I give to the poor, and if I have taken anything from anyone wrongly, I give him back four times as much.

9And Jesus said to him, Today salvation has come to this house, for even he is a son of Abraham.

10For the Son of man came to make search for those who are wandering from the way, and to be their Saviour.

11And while they were giving ear to these words, he made another story for them, because he was near Jerusalem, and because they were of the opinion that the kingdom of God was coming straight away.

12So he said, A certain man of high birth went into a far-away country to get a kingdom for himself, and to come back.

13And he sent for ten of his servants and gave them ten pounds and said to them, Do business with this till I come.

14But his people had no love for him, and sent representatives after him, saying, We will not have this man for our ruler.

15And when he came back again, having got his kingdom, he gave orders for those servants to whom he had given the money to come to him, so that he might have an account of what business they had done.

16And the first came before him, saying, Lord, your pound has made ten pounds.

17And he said to him, You have done well, O good servant: because you have done well in a small thing you will have authority over ten towns.

18And another came, saying, Your pound has made five pounds.

19And he said, You will be ruler over five towns.

20And another came, saying, Lord, here is your pound, which I put away in a cloth;

21Because I was in fear of you, for you are a hard man: you take up what you have not put down, and get in grain where you have not put seed.

22He said to him, By the words of your mouth you will be judged, you bad servant. You had knowledge that I am a hard man, taking up what I have not put down and getting in grain where I have not put seed;

23Why then did you not put my money in a bank, so that when I came I would get it back with interest?

24And he said to the others who were near, Take the pound away from him, and give it to the man who has ten.

25And they say to him, Lord, he has ten pounds.

26And I say to you that to everyone who has, more will be given, but from him who has not, even what he has will be taken away.

27And as for those who were against me, who would not have me for their ruler, let them come here, and be put to death before me.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Genesis 33. Jacob Meets Esau | Bummyla

Leave a Reply

