February 4

Genesis 44

1Then he gave orders to the servant who was over his house, saying, Put as much food into the men’s bags as will go into them, and put every man’s money in the mouth of his bag;

2And put my cup, my silver cup, in the youngest one’s bag, with his money. So he did as Joseph said.

3And at dawn the men, with their asses, were sent away.

4And when they had gone only a little way out of the town, Joseph said to the servant who was over his house, Go after them; and when you overtake them, say to them, Why have you done evil in reward for good?

5Is not this the cup from which my lord takes wine and by which he gets knowledge of the future? Truly, you have done evil.

6So he overtook them and said these words to them.

7And they said to him, Why does my lord say such words as these? far be it from your servants to do such a thing:

8See, the money which was in the mouth of our bags we gave back to you when we came again from Canaan: how then might we take silver or gold from your lord’s house?

9If it comes to light that any of your servants has done this, let him be put to death, and we will be your lord’s servants.

10And he said, Let it be as you say: he in whose bag it is seen will become my servant; and you will not be responsible.

11Then every man quickly got his bag down and undid it.

12And he made a search, starting with the oldest and ending with the youngest; and the cup was in Benjamin’s bag.

13Then in bitter grief they put the bags on the asses again and went back to the town.

14So Judah and his brothers came to Joseph’s house; and he was still there: and they went down on their faces before him.

15And Joseph said, What is this thing which you have done? had you no thought that such a man as I would have power to see what is secret?

16And Judah said, What are we to say to my lord? how may we put ourselves right in his eyes? God has made clear the sin of your servants: now we are in your hands, we and the man in whose bag your cup was seen.

17Then he said, Far be it from me to do so: but the man who had my cup will be my servant; and you may go back to your father in peace.

18Then Judah came near him, and said, Let your servant say a word in my lord’s ears, and let not your wrath be burning against your servant: for you are in the place of Pharaoh to us.

19My lord said to his servants, Have you a father or a brother?

20And we said to my lord, We have an old father and a young child, whom he had when he was old; his brother is dead and he is the only son of his mother, and is very dear to his father.

21And you said to your servants, Let him come down to me with you, so that I may see him.

22And we said to my lord, His father will not let him go; for if he went away his father would come to his death.

23But you said to your servants, If your youngest brother does not come with you, you will not see my face again.

24And when we went back to your servant, our father, we gave him an account of my lord’s words.

25And our father said, Go again and get us a little food.

26And we said, Only if our youngest brother goes with us will we go down; for we may not see the man’s face again if our youngest brother is not with us.

27And our father said to us, You have knowledge that my wife gave me two sons;

28The one went away from me, and I said, Truly he has come to a violent death; and from that time I have not seen him,

29If now you take this one from me, and some evil comes to him, you will make my grey head go down in sorrow to the underworld.

30If then I go back to your servant, my father, without the boy, because his life and the boy’s life are one,

31When he sees that the boy is not with us, he will come to his death, and our father’s grey head will go down in sorrow to the underworld.

32For I made myself responsible for the boy to my father, saying, If I do not give him safely back to you, let mine be the sin for ever.

33So now let me be my lord’s servant here in place of the boy, and let him go back with his brothers.

34For how may I go back to my father without the boy, and see the evil which will come on my father?

Psalms 35

Of David.

1 O Lord, be on my side against those who are judging me; be at war with those who make war against me.

2Be a breastplate to me, and give me your help.

3Take up your spear and keep back my attackers; say to my soul, I am your salvation.

4Let them be overcome and put to shame who make attempts to take my soul; let those who would do me damage be turned back and made foolish.

5Let them be like dust from the grain before the wind; let the angel of the Lord send them in flight.

6Let their way be dark and full of danger; let them be troubled by the angel of the Lord.

7For without cause they have put a net ready for me secretly, in which to take my soul.

8Let destruction come on them without their knowledge; let them be taken themselves in their secret nets, falling into the same destruction.

9And my soul will have joy in the Lord; it will be glad in his salvation.

10All my bones will say, Lord, who is like you? The saviour of the poor man from the hands of the strong, of him who is poor and in need from him who takes his goods.

11False witnesses got up: they put questions to me about crimes of which I had no knowledge.

12They gave me back evil for good, troubling my soul.

13But as for me, when they were ill I put on the clothing of sorrow: I went without food and was sad, and my prayer came back again to my heart.

14My behaviour was as if it had been my friend or my brother: I was bent low in grief like one whose mother is dead.

15But they took pleasure in my trouble, and came together, yes, low persons came together against me without my knowledge; they never came to an end of wounding me.

16Like men of deceit they put me to shame; the voice of their wrath was loud against me.

17Lord, how long will you be looking on? take my soul from their destruction, my life from the lions.

18I will give you praise in the great meeting; I will give you honour among a strong people.

19Do not let my haters be glad over me falsely; let not those who are against me without cause make sport of me.

20For they do not say words of peace; in their deceit they are designing evil things against the quiet ones in the land.

21Their mouths were open wide against me, and they said, Aha, aha, our eyes have seen it.

22You have seen this, O Lord; be not unmoved: O Lord, be not far from me.

23Be awake, O Lord, be moved to take up my cause, my God and my Lord.

24Be my judge, O Lord my God, in your righteousness; do not let them be glad over me.

25Let them not say in their hearts, So we will have it: let them not say, We have put an end to him.

26Let all those who take pleasure in my troubles be shamed and come to nothing: let those who are lifted up against me be covered with shame and have no honour.

27Let those who are on my side give cries of joy; let them ever say, The Lord be praised, for he has pleasure in the peace of his servant.

28And my tongue will be talking of your righteousness and of your praise all the day.

Luke 24:13-53

13And then, two of them, on that very day, were going to a little town named Emmaus, which was about seven miles from Jerusalem.

14And they were talking together about all those things which had taken place.

15And while they were talking and questioning together, Jesus himself came near and went with them.

16But their eyes were not open that they might have knowledge of him.

17And he said to them, What are you talking about together while you go?

18Then stopping, and looking sadly at him, one of them, named Cleopas, said to him, Are you the only man living in Jerusalem who has not had news of the things which have taken place there at this time?

19And he said to them, What things? And they said, The things to do with Jesus of Nazareth, who was a prophet, great in his acts and his words, before God and all the people:

20And how the chief priests and our rulers gave him up to be put to death on the cross.

21But we were hoping that he would be the Saviour of Israel. In addition to all this he has now let three days go by from the time when these things took place;

22And certain women among us gave us cause for wonder, for they went early to the place where his body had been put,

23And it was not there; then they came saying that they had seen a vision of angels who said that he was living.

24And some of those who were with us went to the place, and saw that it was as the women had said, but him they did not see.

25And he said, O foolish men! how slow you are to give belief to what the prophets have said.

26Was it not necessary for the Christ to go through these things, and to come into his glory?

27And he made clear to them all the things in the Writings, from Moses and from all the prophets, which had to do with himself.

28And they came near the town to which they were going, and he seemed as if he was going on;

29But they kept him back, saying, Do not go, for evening is near, the day is almost gone. And he went in with them.

30And when he was seated with them at table, he took the bread, and said words of blessing and, making division of it, he gave it to them.

31And then their eyes were open, and they had knowledge of him, but he went from their view.

32And they said to one another, Were not our hearts burning in us while he was talking to us on the way, making clear to us the holy Writings?

33And that very hour they got up and went back to Jerusalem, where the eleven and the others had come together.

34And they said to them, The Lord has truly come back to life again, and Simon has seen him.

35And they gave an account of the things which had taken place on the way, and how, when he gave them bread, they had knowledge of him.

36And while they were saying these things, he himself was among them, and said to them, Peace be with you!

37But they were full of fear, being of the opinion that they were seeing a spirit.

38And he said to them, Why are you troubled, and why are your hearts full of doubt?

39See; my hands and my feet: it is I myself; put your hands on me and make certain; for a spirit has not flesh and bones as you see that I have.

40And when he had said this, he let them see his hands and his feet.

41And because, for joy and wonder, they were still in doubt, he said to them, Have you any food here?

42And they gave him a bit of cooked fish.

43And before their eyes he took a meal.

44And he said to them, These are the words which I said to you when I was still with you, how it was necessary for all the things which are in the writings of Moses and the prophets and in the Psalms about me, to be put into effect.

45Then he made the holy Writings clear to their minds.

46And he said to them, So it is in the Writings that the Christ would undergo death, and come back to life again on the third day;

47And that teaching about a change of heart and forgiveness of sins is to be given to Jerusalem first and to all nations in his name.

48You are witnesses of these things.

49And now I will send to you what my father has undertaken to give you, but do not go from the town, till the power from heaven comes to you.

50And he took them out till they were near Bethany, and lifting up his hands, he gave them a blessing.

51And while he was doing so, he went from them and was taken up into heaven.

52And they gave him worship and went back to Jerusalem with great joy.

53And they were in the Temple at all times, giving praise to God.

One comment

  1. Pingback: O, Lord, Help This Humble Blog Writer 020712 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

