February 7

Genesis 48

1Now after these things, word came to Joseph that his father was ill: and he took with him his sons Manasseh and Ephraim.

2And when they said to Jacob, Your son Joseph is coming to see you: then Israel, getting all his strength together, had himself lifted up in his bed.

3And Jacob said to Joseph, God, the Ruler of all, came to me in a vision at Luz in the land of Canaan, and gave me his blessing,

4And said to me, Truly, I will make you fertile and give you increase and will make of you a great family of nations: and I will give this land to your seed after you to be their heritage for ever.

5And now your two sons who came to birth in Egypt before I came to you here, are mine; Ephraim and Manasseh will be mine, in the same way as Reuben and Simeon are.

6And any other offspring which you have after them, will be yours, and will be named after their brothers in their heritage.

7And as for me, when I came from Paddan, death overtook Rachel on the way, when we were still some distance from Ephrath; and I put her to rest there on the road to Ephrath, which is Beth-lehem.

8Then Israel, looking at Joseph’s sons, said, Who are these?

9And Joseph said to his father, They are my sons, whom God has given me in this land. And he said, Let them come near me, and I will give them a blessing.

10Now because Israel was old, his eyes were no longer clear, and he was not able to see. So he made them come near to him, and he gave them a kiss, folding them in his arms.

11And Israel said to Joseph, I had no hope of seeing your face again, but God in his mercy has let me see you and your children.

12Then Joseph took them from between his knees, and went down on his face to the earth.

13Then taking Ephraim with his right hand, Joseph put him at Israel’s left side, and with his left hand he put Manasseh at Israel’s right side, placing them near him.

14And Israel, stretching out his right hand, put it on the head of Ephraim, the younger, and his left hand on the head of Manasseh, crossing his hands on purpose, for Manasseh was the older.

15And he gave Joseph a blessing, saying, May the God to whom my fathers, Abraham and Isaac, gave worship, the God who has taken care of me all my life till this day,

16The angel who has been my saviour from all evil, send his blessing on these children: and let my name and the name of my fathers, Abraham and Isaac, be given to them; and let them become a great nation in the earth.

17Now when Joseph saw that his father had put his right hand on the head of Ephraim, it did not seem right to him; and lifting his father’s hand he would have put it on the head of Manasseh.

18And Joseph said to his father, Not so, my father, for this is the older; put your right hand on his head.

19But his father would not, saying, I am doing it on purpose, my son; he will certainly become a nation and a great one; but his younger brother will be greater than he, and his seed will become a great family of nations.

20So he gave them his blessing that day, saying, You will be the sign of blessing in Israel, for they will say, May God make you like Ephraim and Manasseh; and he put Ephraim before Manasseh.

21Then Israel said to Joseph, Now my death is near; but God will be with you, guiding you back to the land of your fathers.

22And I have given you more than your brothers, even Shechem as your heritage, which I took from the Amorites with my sword and my bow.

Psalms 38

A Psalm. Of David. To keep in memory.

1 O Lord, be not bitter with me in your wrath; let not your hand be on me in the heat of your passion.

2For your arrows have gone into my flesh, and I am crushed under the weight of your hand.

3My flesh is wasted because of your wrath; and there is no peace in my bones because of my sin.

4For my crimes have gone over my head; they are like a great weight which is more than my strength.

5My wounds are poisoned and evil-smelling, because of my foolish behaviour.

6I am troubled, I am made low; I go weeping all the day.

7For my body is full of burning; all my flesh is unhealthy.

8I am feeble and crushed down; I gave a cry like a lion because of the grief in my heart.

9Lord, all my desire is before you; my sorrow is not kept secret from you.

10My heart goes out in pain, my strength is wasting away; as for the light of my eyes, it is gone from me.

11My lovers and my friends keep away from my disease; my relations keep far away.

12Those who have a desire to take my life put nets for me; those who are designing my destruction say evil things against me, all the day their minds are full of deceit.

13But I kept my ears shut like a man without hearing; like a man without a voice, never opening his mouth.

14So I was like a man whose ears are shut, and in whose mouth there are no sharp words.

15In you, O Lord, is my hope: you will give me an answer, O Lord, my God.

16I said, Let them not be glad over me; when my foot is moved, let them not be lifted up with pride against me.

17My feet are near to falling, and my sorrow is ever before me.

18I will make clear my wrongdoing, with sorrow in my heart for my sin.

19But they are strong who have hate for me without cause: those who are against me falsely are increased in numbers.

20They give me back evil for good; they are my haters because I go after the thing which is right.

21Do not give me up, O Lord; O my God, be near to me.

22Come quickly to give me help, O Lord, my salvation.

Hebrews 3

1For this reason, holy brothers, marked out to have a part in heaven, give thought to Jesus the representative and high priest of our faith;

2Who kept faith with God who gave him his place, even as Moses did in all his house.

3And it was right for this man to have more honour than Moses, even as the builder of a house has more honour than the house.

4For every house has a builder; but the builder of all things is God.

5And Moses certainly kept faith as a servant, in all his house, and as a witness of those things which were to be said later;

6But Christ as a son, over his house; whose house are we, if we keep our hearts fixed in the glad and certain hope till the end.

7And so, as the Holy Spirit says, Today if you let his voice come to your ears,

8Be not hard of heart, as when you made me angry, on the day of testing in the waste land,

9When your fathers put me to the test, and saw my works for forty years.

10So that I was angry with this generation, and I said, Their hearts are in error at all times, and they have no knowledge of my ways;

11And being angry I made an oath, saying, They may not come into my rest.

12My brothers, take care that there is not by chance in any one of you an evil heart without belief, turning away from the living God:

13But give comfort to one another every day as long as it is still Today; so that no one among you may be made hard by the deceit of sin:

14For if we keep the substance of the faith which we had at the start, even till the end, we have a part with Christ;

15As it is said, Today if you will let his voice come to your ears, be not hard of heart, as when you made him angry.

16Who made him angry when his voice came to them? was it not all those who came out of Egypt with Moses?

17And with whom was he angry for forty years? was it not with those who did evil, who came to their deaths in the waste land?

18And to whom did he make an oath that they might not come into his rest? was it not to those who went against his orders?

19So we see that they were not able to go in because they had no belief.

Hebrews 4:1-13

1Let us then, though we still have God’s word that we may come into his rest, go in fear that some of you may be unable to do so.

2And, truly, the good news came to us, even as it did to them; but the hearing of the word did them no good, because they were not united in faith with the true hearers.

3For those of us who have belief come into his rest; even as he has said, As I said in my oath when I was angry, They may not come into my rest: though the works were done from the time of the making of the world.

4For in one place he has said of the seventh day, And God had rest from all his works on the seventh day;

5And in the same place he says again, They will not come into my rest.

6So that as it is clear that some have to go in, and that the first hearers of the good news were not able to go in because they went against God’s orders,

7After a long time, again naming a certain day, he says in David, Today (as he had said before), Today if you will let his voice come to your ears, be not hard of heart,

8For if Joshua had given them rest, he would not have said anything about another day.

9So that there is still a Sabbath-keeping for the people of God.

10For the man who comes into his rest has had rest from his works, as God did from his.

11Because of this, let us have a strong desire to come into that rest, and let no one go after the example of those who went against God’s orders.

12For the word of God is living and full of power, and is sharper than any two-edged sword, cutting through and making a division even of the soul and the spirit, the bones and the muscles, and quick to see the thoughts and purposes of the heart.

13And there is nothing made which is not completely clear to him; there is nothing covered, but all things are open to the eyes of him with whom we have to do.

Leave a Reply

