February 11

Exodus 5

1And after that, Moses and Aaron came to Pharaoh, and said, The Lord, the God of Israel, says, Let my people go so that they may keep a feast to me in the waste land.

2And Pharaoh said, Who is the Lord, to whose voice I am to give ear and let Israel go? I have no knowledge of the Lord and I will not let Israel go.

3And they said, The God of the Hebrews has come to us: let us then go three days’ journey into the waste land to make an offering to the Lord our God, so that he may not send death on us by disease or the sword.

4And the king of Egypt said to them, Why do you, Moses and Aaron, take the people away from their work? get back to your work.

5And Pharaoh said, Truly, the people of the land are increasing in number, and you are keeping them back from their work.

6The same day Pharaoh gave orders to the overseers and those who were responsible for the work, saying,

7Give these men no more dry stems for their brick-making as you have been doing; let them go and get the material for themselves.

8But see that they make the same number of bricks as before, and no less: for they have no love for work; and so they are crying out and saying, Let us go and make an offering to our God.

9Give the men harder work, and see that they do it; let them not give attention to false words.

10And the overseers of the people and their responsible men went out and said to the people, Pharaoh says, I will give you no more dry stems.

11Go yourselves and get dry stems wherever you are able; for your work is not to be any less.

12So the people were sent in all directions through the land of Egypt to get dry grass for stems.

13And the overseers went on driving them and saying, Do your full day’s work as before when there were dry stems for you.

14And the responsible men of the children of Israel, whom Pharaoh’s overseers had put over them, were given blows, and they said to them, Why have you not done your regular work, in making bricks as before?

15Then the responsible men of the children of Israel came to Pharaoh, protesting and saying, Why are you acting in this way to your servants?

16They give us no dry stems and they say to us, Make bricks: and they give your servants blows; but it is your people who are in the wrong.

17But he said, You have no love for work: that is why you say, Let us go and make an offering to the Lord.

18Go now, get back to your work; no dry stems will be given to you, but you are to make the full number of bricks.

19Then the responsible men of the children of Israel saw that they were purposing evil when they said, The number of bricks which you have to make every day will be no less than before.

20And they came face to face with Moses and Aaron, who were in their way when they came out from Pharaoh:

21And they said to them, May the Lord take note of you and be your judge; for you have given Pharaoh and his servants a bad opinion of us, putting a sword in their hands for our destruction.

22And Moses went back to the Lord and said, Lord, why have you done evil to this people? why have you sent me?

23For from the time when I came to Pharaoh to put your words before him, he has done evil to this people, and you have given them no help.

Exodus 6:1-27

1And the Lord said to Moses, Now you will see what I am about to do to Pharaoh; for by a strong hand he will be forced to let them go, driving them out of his land because of my outstretched arm.

2And God said to Moses, I am Yahweh:

3I let myself be seen by Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, as God, the Ruler of all; but they had no knowledge of my name Yahweh.

4And I made an agreement with them, to give them the land of Canaan, the land of their wanderings.

5And truly my ears are open to the cry of the children of Israel whom the Egyptians keep under their yoke; and I have kept in mind my agreement.

6Say then to the children of Israel, I am Yahweh, and I will take you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians, and make you safe from their power, and will make you free by the strength of my arm after great punishments.

7And I will take you to be my people and I will be your God; and you will be certain that I am the Lord your God, who takes you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians.

8And I will be your guide into the land which I made an oath to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob; and I will give it to you for your heritage: I am Yahweh.

9And Moses said these words to the children of Israel, but they gave no attention to him, because of the grief of their spirit and the cruel weight of their work.

10And the Lord said to Moses,

11Go in and say to Pharaoh, king of Egypt, that he is to let the children of Israel go out of his land.

12And Moses, answering the Lord, said, See, the children of Israel will not give ear to me; how then will Pharaoh give ear to me, whose lips are unclean?

13And the word of the Lord came to Moses and Aaron, with orders for the children of Israel and for Pharaoh, king of Egypt, to take the children of Israel out of the land of Egypt.

14These are the heads of their fathers’ families: the sons of Reuben the oldest son of Israel: Hanoch and Pallu, Hezron and Carmi: these are the families of Reuben.

15And the sons of Simeon: Jemuel and Jamin and Ohad and Jachin and Zohar and Shaul, the son of a woman of Canaan: these are the families of Simeon.

16And these are the names of the sons of Levi in the order of their generations: Gershon and Kohath and Merari: and the years of Levi’s life were a hundred and thirty-seven.

17The sons of Gershon: Libni and Shimei, in the order of their families.

18And the sons of Kohath: Amram and Izhar and Hebron and Uzziel: and the years of Kohath’s life were a hundred and thirty-three.

19And the sons of Merari: Mahli and Mushi: these are the families of the Levites, in the order of their generations.

20And Amram took Jochebed, his father’s sister, as wife; and she gave birth to Aaron and Moses: and the years of Amram’s life were a hundred and thirty-seven.

21And the sons of Izhar: Korah and Nepheg and Zichri.

22And the sons of Uzziel: Mishael and Elzaphan and Sithri.

23And Aaron took as his wife Elisheba, the daughter of Amminadab, the sister of Nahshon; and she gave birth to Nadab and Abihu, Eleazar and Ithamar.

24And the sons of Korah: Assir and Elkanah and Abiasaph: these are the families of the Korahites.

25And Eleazar, Aaron’s son, took as his wife one of the daughters of Putiel; and she gave birth to Phinehas. These are the heads of the families of the Levites, in the order of their families.

26These are the same Aaron and Moses to whom the Lord said, Take the children of Israel out of the land of Egypt in their armies.

27These are the men who gave orders to Pharaoh to let the children of Israel go out of Egypt: these are the same Moses and Aaron.

Proverbs 1

1The wise sayings of Solomon, the son of David, king of Israel.

2To have knowledge of wise teaching; to be clear about the words of reason:

3To be trained in the ways of wisdom, in righteousness and judging truly and straight behaviour:

4To make the simple-minded sharp, and to give the young man knowledge, and serious purpose:

5(The wise man, hearing, will get greater learning, and the acts of the man of good sense will be wisely guided:)

6To get the sense of wise sayings and secrets, and of the words of the wise and their dark sayings.

7The fear of the Lord is the start of knowledge: but the foolish have no use for wisdom and teaching.

8My son, give ear to the training of your father, and do not give up the teaching of your mother:

9For they will be a crown of grace for your head, and chain-ornaments about your neck.

10My son, if sinners would take you out of the right way, do not go with them.

11If they say, Come with us; let us make designs against the good, waiting secretly for the upright, without cause;

12Let us overcome them living, like the underworld, and in their strength, as those who go down to death;

13Goods of great price will be ours, our houses will be full of wealth;

14Take your chance with us, and we will all have one money-bag:

15My son, do not go with them; keep your feet from their ways:

16For their feet are running after evil, and they are quick to take a man’s life.

17Truly, to no purpose is the net stretched out before the eyes of the bird:

18And they are secretly waiting for their blood and making ready destruction for themselves.

19Such is the fate of everyone who goes in search of profit; it takes away the life of its owners.

20Wisdom is crying out in the street; her voice is loud in the open places;

21Her words are sounding in the meeting-places, and in the doorways of the town:

22How long, you simple ones, will foolish things be dear to you? and pride a delight to the haters of authority? how long will the foolish go on hating knowledge?

23Be turned again by my sharp words: see, I will send the flow of my spirit on you, and make my words clear to you.

24Because your ears were shut to my voice; no one gave attention to my out-stretched hand;

25You were not controlled by my guiding, and would have nothing to do with my sharp words:

26So in the day of your trouble I will be laughing; I will make sport of your fear;

27When your fear comes on you like a storm, and your trouble like a rushing wind; when pain and sorrow come on you.

28Then I will give no answer to their cries; searching for me early, they will not see me:

29For they were haters of knowledge, and did not give their hearts to the fear of the Lord:

30They had no desire for my teaching, and my words of protest were as nothing to them.

31So the fruit of their way will be their food, and with the designs of their hearts they will be made full.

32For the turning back of the simple from teaching will be the cause of their death, and the peace of the foolish will be their destruction.

33But whoever gives ear to me will take his rest safely, living in peace without fear of evil.

Hebrews 8

1Now of the things we are saying this is the chief point: We have such a high priest, who has taken his place at the right hand of God’s high seat of glory in heaven,

2As a servant of the holy things and of the true Tent, which was put up by God, not by man.

3Now every high priest is given authority to take to God the things which are given and to make offerings; so that it is necessary for this man, like them, to have something for an offering.

4If he had been on earth he would not have been a priest at all, because there are other priests who make the offerings ordered by the law;

5Being servants of that which is a copy and an image of the things in heaven, as Moses, when he was about to make the Tent, had special orders from God: for, See, he said, that you make everything like the design which you saw in the mountain.

6But now his position as priest is higher. because through him God has made a better agreement with man, based on the giving of better things.

7For if that first agreement had been as good as possible, there would have been no place for a second.

8For, protesting against them, he says, See, the days are coming when I will make a new agreement with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah;

9Not like the agreement which I made with their fathers when I took them by the hand, to be their guide out of the land of Egypt; for they did not keep the agreement with me, and I gave them up, says the Lord.

10For this is the agreement which I will make with the people of Israel after those days: I will put my laws into their minds, writing them in their hearts: and I will be their God, and they will be my people:

11And there will be no need for every man to be teaching his brother, or his neighbour, saying, This is the knowledge of the Lord: for they will all have knowledge of me, great and small.

12And I will have mercy on their evil-doing, and I will not keep their sins in mind.

13When he says, A new agreement, he has made the first agreement old. But anything which is getting old and past use will not be seen much longer.

Leave a Reply

