March 15

Leviticus 26

1Do not make images of false gods, or put up an image cut in stone or a pillar or any pictured stone in your land, to give worship to it; for I am the Lord your God.

2Keep my Sabbaths and give honour to my holy place: I am the Lord.

3If you are guided by my rules, and keep my laws and do them,

4Then I will give you rain at the right time, and the land will give her increase and the trees of the field will give their fruit;

5And the crushing of the grain will overtake the cutting of the grapes, and the cutting of the grapes will overtake the planting of the seed, and there will be bread in full measure, and you will be living in your land safely.

6And I will give you peace in the land, and you will take your rest and no one will give you cause for fear; and I will put an end to all evil beasts in the land, and no sword of war will go through your land.

7And you will put to flight those who are against you, and they will be put to death by your swords.

8Then five of you will put to flight a hundred, and a hundred of you will put to flight ten thousand, and all who are against you will be put to death by your swords.

9And I will have pleasure in you and make you fertile and greater in number; and I will keep my agreement with you.

10And old stores long kept will be your food, and you will take out the old because of the new;

11And I will put my holy House among you, and my soul will not be turned away from you in disgust.

12And I will be present among you and will be your God and you will be my people.

13I am the Lord your God, who took you out of the land of Egypt so that you might not be servants to them; by me the cords of your yoke were broken and I made you go upright.

14But if you do not give ear to me, and do not keep all these my laws;

15And if you go against my rules and if you have hate in your souls for my decisions and you do not do all my orders, but go against my agreement;

16This will I do to you: I will put fear in your hearts, even wasting disease and burning pain, drying up the eyes and making the soul feeble, and you will get no profit from your seed, for your haters will take it for food.

17And my face will be turned from you, and you will be broken before those who are against you, and your haters will become your rulers, and you will go in flight when no man comes after you.

18And if, even after these things, you will not give ear to me, then I will send you punishment seven times more for your sins.

19And the pride of your strength will be broken, and I will make your heaven as iron and your earth as brass;

20And your strength will be used up without profit; for your land will not give her increase and the trees of the field will not give their fruit.

21And if you still go against me and will not give ear to me, I will put seven times more punishments on you because of your sins.

22I will let loose the beasts of the field among you, and they will take away your children and send destruction on your cattle, so that your numbers will become small and your roads become waste.

23And if by these things you will not be turned to me, but still go against me;

24Then I will go against you, and I will give you punishment, I myself, seven times for all your sins.

25And I will send a sword on you to give effect to the punishment of my agreement; and when you come together into your towns I will send disease among you and you will be given up into the hands of your haters.

26When I take away your bread of life, ten women will be cooking bread in one oven, and your bread will be measured out by weight; you will have food but never enough.

27And if, after all this, you do not give ear to me, but go against me still,

28Then my wrath will be burning against you, and I will give you punishment, I myself, seven times for your sins.

29Then you will take the flesh of your sons and the flesh of your daughters for food;

30And I will send destruction on your high places, overturning your perfume altars, and will put your dead bodies on your broken images, and my soul will be turned from you in disgust.

31And I will make your towns waste and send destruction on your holy places; I will take no pleasure in the smell of your sweet perfumes;

32And I will make your land a waste, a wonder to your haters living in it.

33And I will send you out in all directions among the nations, and my sword will be uncovered against you, and your land will be without any living thing, and your towns will be made waste.

34Then will the land take pleasure in its Sabbaths while it is waste and you are living in the land of your haters; then will the land have rest.

35All the days while it is waste will the land have rest, such rest as it never had in your Sabbaths, when you were living in it.

36And as for the rest of you, I will make their hearts feeble in the land of their haters, and the sound of a leaf moved by the wind will send them in flight, and they will go in flight as from the sword, falling down when no one comes after them;

37Falling on one another, as before the sword, when no one comes after them; you will give way before your haters.

38And death will overtake you among strange nations, and the land of your haters will be your destruction.

39And those of you who are still living will be wasting away in their sins in the land of your haters; in the sins of their fathers they will be wasting away.

40And they will have grief for their sins and for the sins of their fathers, when their hearts were untrue to me, and they went against me;

41So that I went against them and sent them away into the land of their haters: if then the pride of their hearts is broken and they take the punishment of their sins,

42Then I will keep in mind the agreement which I made with Jacob and with Isaac and with Abraham, and I will keep in mind the land.

43And the land, while she is without them, will keep her Sabbaths; and they will undergo the punishment of their sins, because they were turned away from my decisions and in their souls was hate for my laws.

44But for all that, when they are in the land of their haters I will not let them go, or be turned away from them, or give them up completely; my agreement with them will not be broken, for I am the Lord their God.

45And because of them I will keep in mind the agreement which I made with their fathers, whom I took out of the land of Egypt before the eyes of the nations, to be their God: I am the Lord.

46These are the rules, decisions, and laws, which the Lord made between himself and the children of Israel in Mount Sinai, by the hand of Moses.

Leviticus 27

1And the Lord said to Moses,

2Say to the children of Israel, If a man makes a special oath, you will give your decision as to the value of the persons for the Lord.

3And you will put the value of a male from twenty years to sixty years old at fifty shekels of silver, by the scale of the holy place.

4And if it is a female, the value will be thirty shekels.

5And if the person is from five to twenty years old, the value will be twenty shekels for a male, and ten for a female.

6And if the person is from one month to five years old, then the value for a male will be five shekels of silver, and for a female three shekels.

7And for sixty years old and over, for a male the value will be fifteen shekels, and for a female, ten.

8But if he is poorer than the value which you have put on him, then let him be taken to the priest, and the priest will put a value on him, such as it is possible for him to give.

9And if it is a beast of which men make offerings to the Lord, whatever any man gives of such to the Lord will be holy.

10It may not be changed in any way, a good given for a bad, or a bad for a good; if one beast is changed for another, the two will be holy.

11And if it is any unclean beast, of which offerings are not made to the Lord, then let him take the beast before the priest;

12And let the priest put a value on it, if it is good or bad; whatever value the priest puts on it, so will it be.

13But if he has a desire to get it back for himself, let him give a fifth more than your value.

14And if a man has given his house as holy to the Lord, then the priest will put a value on it, if it is good or bad; as the priest gives decision so will the value be fixed.

15And if the owner has a desire to get back his house, let him give a fifth more than your value, and it will be his.

16And if a man gives to the Lord part of the field which is his property, then let your value be in relation to the seed which is planted in it; a measure of barley grain will be valued at fifty shekels of silver.

17If he gives his field from the year of Jubilee, the value will be fixed by your decision.

18But if he gives his field after the year of Jubilee, the amount of the money will be worked out by the priest in relation to the number of years till the coming year of Jubilee, and the necessary amount will be taken off your value.

19And if the man who has given the field has a desire to get it back, let him give a fifth more than the price at which it was valued and it will be his.

20But if he has no desire to get it back, or if he has given it for a price to another man, it may not be got back again.

21But the field, when it becomes free at the year of Jubilee, will be holy to the Lord, as a field given under oath: it will be the property of the priest.

22And if a man gives to the Lord a field which he has got for money from another, which is not part of his heritage;

23Then the value fixed by you up to the year of Jubilee will be worked out for him by the priest, and in that day he will give the amount of your value as holy to the Lord.

24In the year of Jubilee the field will go back to him from whom he got it, that is, to him whose heritage it was.

25And let all your values be based on the shekel of the holy place, that is, twenty gerahs to the shekel.

26But a man may not give by oath to the Lord the first-fruits of cattle which are offered to the Lord: if it is an ox or a sheep it is the Lord’s.

27And if it is an unclean beast, then the owner of it may give money to get it back, in agreement with the value fixed by you, by giving a fifth more; or if it is not taken back, let it be given for money in agreement with your valuing.

28But nothing which a man has given completely to the Lord, out of all his property, of man or beast, or of the land which is his heritage, may be given away or got back in exchange for money; anything completely given is most holy to the Lord.

29Any man given completely to the Lord may not be got back: he is certainly to be put to death.

30And every tenth part of the land, of the seed planted, or of the fruit of trees, is holy to the Lord.

31And if a man has a desire to get back any of the tenth part which he has given, let him give a fifth more.

32And a tenth part of the herd and of the flock, whatever goes under the rod of the valuer, will be holy to the Lord.

33He may not make search to see if it is good or bad, or make any changes in it; and if he makes exchange of it for another, the two will be holy; he will not get them back again.

34These are the orders which the Lord gave to Moses for the children of Israel in Mount Sinai.

Ecclesiastes 1:12-18

12I, the Preacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem.

13And I gave my heart to searching out in wisdom all things which are done under heaven: it is a hard thing which God has put on the sons of men to do.

14I have seen all the works which are done under the sun; all is to no purpose, and desire for wind.

15That which is bent may not be made straight, and that which is not there may not be numbered.

16I said to my heart, See, I have become great and am increased in wisdom more than any who were before me in Jerusalem–yes, my heart has seen much wisdom and knowledge.

17And I gave my heart to getting knowledge of wisdom, and of the ways of the foolish. And I saw that this again was desire for wind.

18Because in much wisdom is much grief, and increase of knowledge is increase of sorrow.

Ecclesiastes 2

1I said in my heart, I will give you joy for a test; so take your pleasure–but it was to no purpose.

2Of laughing I said, It is foolish; and of joy–What use is it?

3I made a search with my heart to give pleasure to my flesh with wine, still guiding my heart with wisdom, and to go after foolish things, so that I might see what was good for the sons of men to do under the heavens all the days of their life.

4I undertook great works, building myself houses and planting vine-gardens.

5I made myself gardens and fruit gardens, planting in them fruit-trees of all sorts.

6I made pools to give water for the woods with their young trees.

7I got men-servants and women-servants, and they gave birth to sons and daughters in my house. I had great wealth of herds and flocks, more than all who were in Jerusalem before me.

8I got together silver and gold and the wealth of kings and of countries. I got makers of song, male and female; and the delights of the sons of men–girls of all sorts to be my brides.

9And I became great; increasing more than all who had been before me in Jerusalem, and my wisdom was still with me.

10And nothing which was desired by my eyes did I keep from them; I did not keep any joy from my heart, because my heart took pleasure in all my work, and this was my reward.

11Then I saw all the works which my hands had made, and everything I had been working to do; and I saw that all was to no purpose and desire for wind, and there was no profit under the sun.

12And I went again in search of wisdom and of foolish ways. What may the man do who comes after the king? The thing which he has done before.

13Then I saw that wisdom is better than foolish ways–as the light is better than the dark.

14The wise man’s eyes are in his head, but the foolish man goes walking in the dark; but still I saw that the same event comes to them all.

15Then said I in my heart: As it comes to the foolish man, so will it come to me; so why have I been wise overmuch? Then I said in my heart: This again is to no purpose.

16Of the wise man, as of the foolish man, there is no memory for ever, seeing that those who now are will have gone from memory in the days to come. See how death comes to the wise as to the foolish!

17So I was hating life, because everything under the sun was evil to me: all is to no purpose and desire for wind.

18Hate had I for all my work which I had done, because the man who comes after me will have its fruits.

19And who is to say if that man will be wise or foolish? But he will have power over all my work which I have done and in which I have been wise under the sun. This again is to no purpose.

20So my mind was turned to grief for all the trouble I had taken and all my wisdom under the sun.

21Because there is a man whose work has been done with wisdom, with knowledge, and with an expert hand; but one who has done nothing for it will have it for his heritage. This again is to no purpose and a great evil.

22What does a man get for all his work, and for the weight of care with which he has done his work under the sun?

23All his days are sorrow, and his work is full of grief. Even in the night his heart has no rest. This again is to no purpose.

24There is nothing better for a man than taking meat and drink, and having delight in his work. This again I saw was from the hand of God.

25Who may take food or have pleasure without him?

26To the man with whom he is pleased, God gives wisdom and knowledge and joy; but to the sinner he gives the work of getting goods together and storing up wealth, to give to him in whom God has pleasure. This again is to no purpose and desire for wind.

Matthew 15:21-39

21And Jesus went away from there into the country of Tyre and Sidon.

22And a woman of Canaan came out from those parts, crying and saying, Have pity on me, O Lord, Son of David; my daughter is greatly troubled with an unclean spirit.

23But he gave her no answer. And his disciples came and said to him, Send her away, for she is crying after us.

24But he made answer and said, I was sent only to the wandering sheep of the house of Israel.

25But she came and gave him worship, saying, Help, Lord.

26And he made answer and said, It is not right to take the children’s bread and give it to the dogs.

27But she said, Yes, Lord: but even the dogs take the bits from under their masters’ table.

28Then Jesus, answering, said to her, O woman, great is your faith: let your desire be done. And her daughter was made well from that hour.

29And Jesus went from there and came to the sea of Galilee; and he went up into the mountain, and took his seat there.

30And there came to him great numbers of people having with them those who were broken in body, or blind, or without voice, or wounded, or ill in any way, and a number of others; they put them down at his feet and he made them well:

31So that the people were full of wonder when they saw that those who had no voice were talking, the feeble were made strong, those whose bodies were broken had the power of walking, and the blind were able to see: and they gave glory to the God of Israel.

32And Jesus got his disciples together and said, I have pity for the people, because they have now been with me three days and have no food: and I will not send them away without food, or they will have no strength for the journey.

33And the disciples say to him, How may we get enough bread in a waste place, to give food to such a number of people?

34And Jesus says to them, How much bread have you? And they said, Seven cakes, and some small fishes.

35Then he gave an order to the people to be seated on the earth,

36And he took the seven cakes of bread and the fishes; and having given praise, he gave the broken bread to the disciples, and the disciples gave it to the people.

37And they all took food, and had enough; and they took up of the broken bits, seven baskets full.

38And there were four thousand men who took food, together with women and children.

39And when he had sent the people away, he got into the boat, and came into the country of Magadan.

Leave a Reply

