September 14

2 Chronicles 24

1Joash was seven years old when he became king, and he was ruling for forty years in Jerusalem: his mother’s name was Zibiah of Beer-sheba.

2And Joash did what was right in the eyes of the Lord as long as Jehoiada the priest was living.

3And Jehoiada took two wives for him, and he became the father of sons and daughters.

4Now after this Joash had a desire to put the house of the Lord into good order again;

5And getting together the priests and Levites, he said to them, Go out into the towns of Judah year by year, and get from all Israel money to keep the house of your God in good condition; and see that this is done without loss of time. The Levites, however, were slow in doing so.

6Then the king sent for Jehoiada, the chief priest, and said to him, Why have you not given the Levites orders that the tax fixed by Moses, the servant of the Lord, and by the meeting of Israel, for the Tent of witness, is to be got in from Judah and Jerusalem and handed over?

7For the house of the Lord had been broken up by Athaliah, that evil woman, and her sons; and all its holy things they had given to the Baals.

8So at the king’s order they made a chest and put it outside the doorway of the house of the Lord.

9And an order was sent out through all Judah and Jerusalem that payment was to be made to the Lord of the tax which Moses, the servant of God, had put on Israel in the waste land.

10And all the chiefs and all the people came gladly and put their money into the chest, till they had all given.

11So when the chest was taken to the king’s servants by the Levites, and they saw that there was much money in it, the king’s scribe and the chief priest’s servant took the money out, and put the chest back in its place. They did this day by day, and got together a great amount of money.

12Then the king and Jehoiada gave it to those who were responsible for getting the work done on the Lord’s house, and with it they got wall-builders and woodworkers and metal-workers to put the house of the Lord in good order again.

13So the workmen did their work, making good what was damaged and building up the house of God till it was strong and beautiful again.

14And when the work was done, they took the rest of the money to the king and Jehoiada, and it was used for making the vessels for the house of the Lord, all the vessels needed for the offerings, the spoons and the vessels of gold and silver. And as long as Jehoiada was living, the regular burned offerings were offered in the house of the Lord.

15But Jehoiada became old and full of days, and he came to his end; he was a hundred and thirty years old at the time of his death.

16And they put him into his last resting-place in the town of David, among the kings, because he had done good in Israel for God and for his house.

17Now after the death of Jehoiada, the chiefs of Judah came and went down on their faces before the king. Then the king gave ear to them.

18And they gave up the house of the Lord God of their fathers, and became worshippers of pillars of wood and of the images; and because of this sin of theirs, wrath came on Judah and Jerusalem.

19And the Lord sent them prophets to make them come back to him; and they gave witness against them, but they would not give ear.

20Then the spirit of God came on Zechariah, the son of Jehoiada the priest, and, getting up before the people, he said to them, God has said, Why do you go against the orders of the Lord, so that everything goes badly for you? because you have given up the Lord, he has given you up.

21But when they had made a secret design against him, he was stoned with stones, by the king’s order, in the outer square of the Lord’s house.

22So King Joash did not keep in mind how good Jehoiada his father had been to him, but put his son to death. And in the hour of his death he said, May the Lord see it and take payment!

23Now in the spring, the army of the Aramaeans came up against him; they came against Judah and Jerusalem, putting to death all the great men of the people and sending all the goods they took from them to the king of Damascus.

24For though the army of Aram was only a small one, the Lord gave a very great army into their hands, because they had given up the Lord, the God of their fathers. So they put into effect the punishment of Joash.

25And when they had gone away from him, (for he was broken with disease,) his servants made a secret design against him because of the blood of the son of Jehoiada the priest, and they put him to death on his bed; and they put his body into the earth in the town of David, but not in the resting-place of the kings.

26Those who made designs against him were Zabad, the son of Shimeath, an Ammonite woman, and Jehozabad, the son of Shimrith, a Moabite woman.

27Now the story of his sons, and all the words said by the prophet against him, and the building up again of the Lord’s house, are recorded in the account in the book of the kings. And Amaziah his son became king in his place.

Psalms 81

To the chief music-maker; put to the Gittith. Of Asaph.
1 Make a song to God our strength: make a glad cry to the God of Jacob.

2Take up the melody, playing on an instrument of music, even on corded instruments.

3Let the horn be sounded in the time of the new moon, at the full moon, on our holy feast-day:

4For this is a rule for Israel, and a law of the God of Jacob.

5He gave it to Joseph as a witness, when he went out over the land of Egypt; then the words of a strange tongue were sounding in my ears.

6I took the weight from his back; his hands were made free from the baskets.

7You gave a cry in your trouble, and I made you free; I gave you an answer in the secret place of the thunder; I put you to the test at the waters of Meribah. (Selah.)

8Give ear, O my people, and I will give you my word, O Israel, if you will only do as I say!

9There is to be no strange god among you; you are not to give worship to any other god.

10I am the Lord your God, who took you up from the land of Egypt: let your mouth be open wide, so that I may give you food.

11But my people did not give ear to my voice; Israel would have nothing to do with me.

12So I gave them up to the desires of their hearts; that they might go after their evil purposes.

13If only my people would give ear to me, walking in my ways!

14I would quickly overcome their haters: my hand would be turned against those who make war on them.

15The haters of the Lord would be broken, and their destruction would be eternal.

16I would give them the best grain for food; you would be full of honey from the rock.

John 16:4-33

4I have said these things to you so that when the time comes, what I have said may come to your mind. I did not say them to you at the first, because then I was still with you.

5But now I am going to him who sent me; and not one of you says to me, Where are you going?

6But your hearts are full of sorrow because I have said these things.

7But what I am saying is true: my going is for your good: for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.

8And he, when he comes, will make the world conscious of sin, and of righteousness, and of being judged:

9Of sin, because they have not faith in me;

10Of righteousness, because I go to the Father and you will see me no more;

11Of being judged, because the ruler of this world has been judged.

12I have still much to say to you, but you are not strong enough for it now.

13However, when he, the Spirit of true knowledge, has come, he will be your guide into all true knowledge: for his words will not come from himself, but whatever has come to his hearing, that he will say: and he will make clear to you the things to come.

14He will give me glory, because he will take of what is mine, and make it clear to you.

15Everything which the Father has is mine: that is why I say, He will take of what is mine and will make it clear to you.

16After a little time you will see me no longer; and then again, after a little time, you will see me.

17So some of the disciples said one to another, What is this he is saying, After a little time, you will see me no longer; and then again, after a little time, you will see me? and, I am going to the Father?

18So they said again and again, What is this he is saying, A little time? His words are not clear to us.

19Jesus saw that they had a desire to put the question to him, so he said to them, Is this what you are questioning one with another, why I said, After a little time, you will see me no longer; and then again, after a little time, you will see me?

20Truly I say to you, You will be weeping and sorrowing, but the world will be glad: you will be sad, but your sorrow will be turned into joy.

21When a woman is about to give birth she has sorrow, because her hour is come; but when she has given birth to the child, the pain is put out of her mind by the joy that a man has come into the world.

22So you have sorrow now: but I will see you again, and your hearts will be glad, and no one will take away your joy.

23And on that day you will put no questions to me. Truly I say to you, Whatever request you make to the Father, he will give it to you in my name.

24Up to now you have made no request in my name: do so, and it will be answered, so that your hearts may be full of joy.

25All this I have said to you in veiled language: but the time is coming when I will no longer say things in veiled language but will give you knowledge of the Father clearly.

26In that day you will make requests in my name: and I do not say that I will make prayer to the Father for you,

27For the Father himself gives his love to you, because you have given your love to me and have had faith that I came from God.

28I came out from the Father and have come into the world: again, I go away from the world and go to the Father.

29His disciples said, Now you are talking clearly and not in veiled language.

30Now we are certain that you have knowledge of all things and have no need for anyone to put questions to you: through this we have faith that you came from God.

31Jesus made answer, Have you faith now?

32See, a time is coming, yes, it is now here, when you will go away in all directions, every man to his house, and I will be by myself: but I am not by myself, because the Father is with me.

33I have said all these things to you so that in me you may have peace. In the world you have trouble: but take heart! I have overcome the world.

Leave a Reply

